No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2001
I doubled this recipe and made several pies for a meeting I had. This was my FIRST TIME making pie crusts and it turned out wonderfully. No fail, even for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
My grandma always told me practice makes perfect when it comes to most things especially pie crust, but I could not master a good pie crust, so it seemed. I doubled this recipe and made 3 pies over 4th of July and everyone raved about the pies and especially the crust! Tender and very flaky, they melt in your mouth. Thank you! I had plenty of dough left over to cut into strips and some I salted the others I put cinnamon and sugar on and baked to perfection! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This was my first attempt at a home made crust. Thank you Molly. I used Crisco's butter flavored shortening for the lard. ~kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I bake pies weekly for a group of veterans, and I was curious about this crust. I have always made pie crust with just lard, flour, salt and water, like my mom did, so I tried this one day. The crust was a dream to roll out, but I was skeptical as to how much shrinkage there would be because the crust was so light and delicate. Well, I decided to bake two pie shells to see what happens. What happened was that I was pleasantly surprised. Wonderful tender, flaky crust and not much shrinkage at all. My guys said I outdid myself that week, so I guess this will become my crust of choice. Sorry mom! Hint: Shortening and butter are good for crusts, but lard can't be beat. And a little trick for those having tear problems. When you get the dough rolled to the desired thickness, lay your rolling pin on the edge of the dough farthest from you. Using a tender touch, roll the dough up over your rolling pin, then using your hands, not the handles, GENTLY roll the pin towards you rolling the dough over the pin. Put your pie pan directly behind the dough covered pin, and using both hands lift the pin and dough onto your pan, then roll away from you. Your dough will go into your pan beautifully, and your top crust will set perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Do NOT substitute anything in this recipe, it's perfect as is! This is the crust my Mom was famous for...I knew it the second I tasted it. I haven't made a pie in years, and for me it is difficult to work with pie crusts anyway, especially one so flaky. If you are having problems with it tearing like I was, roll it out on a piece of wax paper...it helps with handling. This is the flakiest, melt in your mouth pie crust ever...even if my meringue didn't turn out, at least my crust did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This is the best recipe and its easy too. I have always used bought crusts till now. I did cut the salt in half on my husbands request. Try it you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I baked my first pie crust with lard. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
The first time a I made this I changed the recipe slightly by replacing 1/2 the lard with cold butter. It turned out tender and flaky. I found that this recipe could produce 5 or 6 crusts as opposed to only 4. * Made this recipe again using home-made lard, and it was AMAZING! Right up there with my Baba's. If you can find it, try a pie crust with home-made lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
this recipe is the same as my old recipe with the exception of lard in place of shortening. Shortening has trans fat which is what I am trying to avoid. This recipe is so wonderful and superior to shortening or oil made crusts. It is exactly like the pie crusts my mother and all the ladies of "back then" used to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Oh WOW! This came out both tender and very flaky. Now I have 2 favorite recipes! This is as good as the french pastry crust. I did use lard to make this. Will definitely keep and use this one again and again! I cut this in half and still got 3 pie crusts from this recipe. It felt kind of "wet" at first when I made the 3 balls of dough, but once on a floured surface, I found this was very easy to roll out and work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States