No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I consider myself a pretty good chef, but I was always afraid to try to make pie crust. You know, you've been to the work pot luck and someone makes pie and the crust is so tough you have to chew it a hundred times. NOT WITH THIS CRUST! This crust is so light and flaky, it rivals anything I've ever had anywhere. The lard freaked me out at first, but I do remember my grandmother telling me nothing works as well. Anyhow, I made it for lemon meringue pie and took it to a friend's house last night. Every bite of the entire pie was gone - I should've made two! This will be the only crust I ever make! Hmmmm, maybe I'll try chocolate cream next. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is the best recipe ever... it is the same one my grandma used to use and I was so glad I found it here! It rolls out beautifully and is almost impossible to goof up! The crust is extremely tender & flaky... many have raved over this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Great crust. Flaky, pretty easy to work with......will use this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I'm not sure why mine was so different. I've never had a problem with a crust, but I haven't found a recipe I love either. This one though, was by far the worst for me. It was entirely too mushy. I ended up adding another 1/2 cup to a full cup afterward just to make it hold. Also quite a bit of shrinkage and there was something very unpleasant for me about the scent of the lard, which remained slightly even after baking. Not a winner for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This is a good pie crust, but I am not 100% sold on the taste. I made it twice, once with organic vegetable shortening & the second time with lard. I liked the taste of the shortening crust, but the texture of the lard crust was more tender. I am going to experiment a bit & maybe replace some of the shortening with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Oh WOW! This came out both tender and very flaky. Now I have 2 favorite recipes! This is as good as the french pastry crust. I did use lard to make this. Will definitely keep and use this one again and again! I cut this in half and still got 3 pie crusts from this recipe. It felt kind of "wet" at first when I made the 3 balls of dough, but once on a floured surface, I found this was very easy to roll out and work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
this recipe is the same as my old recipe with the exception of lard in place of shortening. Shortening has trans fat which is what I am trying to avoid. This recipe is so wonderful and superior to shortening or oil made crusts. It is exactly like the pie crusts my mother and all the ladies of "back then" used to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
The first time a I made this I changed the recipe slightly by replacing 1/2 the lard with cold butter. It turned out tender and flaky. I found that this recipe could produce 5 or 6 crusts as opposed to only 4. * Made this recipe again using home-made lard, and it was AMAZING! Right up there with my Baba's. If you can find it, try a pie crust with home-made lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I baked my first pie crust with lard. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This is the best recipe and its easy too. I have always used bought crusts till now. I did cut the salt in half on my husbands request. Try it you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States