No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I have used this recipe for many years. Something about adding the egg and vingegar really makes for an easy crust that always comes out perfect. My favorite flour is Hudson Cream. That seems to always work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
It is the easiest and prettiest pie crust. I just smile everytime I look at my pies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I was looking for a crust with no butter and shortening due to allergies. This crust is amazing! I won 2nd place at the local pie bake off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I think this will be a great recipe but I do need some help with it. I used lard and also mixed it in a food processer. It never formed a ball and was very soft. I probably added an extra cup or more of flour to get it all to semi form a ball. It is now in the fridge and we hope that helps. I am worried it got over beated and may now make a tough crust. Let me know if anyone has a suggestions. However it does look very smooth line the one in the picture. I think my next problem will be rolling it out and getting it into the pie plate. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
WOWSER! My pie crust used to be tough. I just never spent much time on them. I bugged my mother to make them for me instead, sigh... NEVERMORE! I just used this for homemade double crust chicken pot pie and the families that received them for dinner tonight are raving about them. I made one change. I used 1 c lard, chilled and 2/3 c non salted, sweet cream butter, cubed 1/2" and chilled for the fat component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monte Rice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I love this recipe and actually, this is my first successful pie crust. I used this to make Grandma Opel's Apple pie. Since I have never been a fan of plain shortening pie crusts, I used the butter flavored Crisco. This crust, with the right filling, is a sure winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Andrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brazoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I have been using this recipe for 35 years and am famous for my pies. And this dough is easy to handle, and you can re-roll it if necessary. I couldn't make a good pie crust to save my life until I got this recipe. If you prefer vegetable shortning, just use a little more than the lard called for. Lard is more "short' than vegetable shortning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Liberty, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is a nice basic crust recipe. The vinegar makes is nice and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
my pies are always appreciated at family gatherings, but this time the crust got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I'm pleased with the results of the pie dough if I were using it for a pot pie, but it tastes a little too salty for a fruit pie. Next time I'll reduce salt by 1 tsp and maybe replace it with a tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States