No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I got tired of paying about $2.00 for 2 pie shells at a pop. I made these for my turkey pot pie and I must have rolled them out pretty thin because I had extra left over. So, I put it in the fridge and used it the next day for pecan pie. I couldn't roll it out so I added a little water and worked it with my hands. After that, it rolled out beautifully :) All 3 pies came out perfect - I'll definitely be using this again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made my 1st crust today and it was just perfect! Just the right amount of flakiness for me and tender. I used 3 cups flour, 1 tsp salt and salted butter instead of lard since I did not have any on hand. This made two crusts. After forming the 2 balls I popped it into the freezer for 30 mins and it rolled out like a breeze. Placed it on the tray then back into the fridge to chill for 30 minutes while I made the topping which was pumpkin pie. Am so pleased with myself! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAmMinion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I had to substitute the lard with margerine, only because i didn't have any lard! Loved the recipe and plan on using it again as well as sharing. Was simple and rolled out really nice! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Michel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I loved the way it held together as I rolled it out, cut it and did the lattice-work. The only thing I did differently was brushed the crust with egg and sprinkled a little cinnamon and sugar on top, which is just personal preference. This crust was beautifully flaky and light and complemented the blueberry filling wonderfully! I will gladly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was a great recipe. I put everything in my Kitchenaid mixer with the dough attachment, took it out, separated it into 4 balls as the recipe suggested, used two and froze two. Made a turkey pot pie that I found on here, it was wonderful! Thanks for a great pie crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowcountryJudi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Look no further. This pie crust is the best ever! Shared this one with my daughter. Thank you for sharing your recipe. A wonderful flaky crust. Made without changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My crust looks absolutely beautiful. It is flaky and tender. I did reduce the salt to 1 tsp and I added 2 1/2 tsp of sugar. I always make sure my water is ice cold when I pour it into the mixture. This is definitely a keeper! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I just doubled this recipe and made 8 pie crusts. I didn't have lard so I used part shortening and part butter. They rolled out nicely. I rolled out 6 of them and put in foil pie plates, then I left 2 in flattened balls to use as top crusts when I need a double crust. I wrapped them up tightly in plastic wrap and put them in the freezer. All set to make pies for Thanksgiving next week! And I'll have a couple crusts left over for other occasions. I haven't baked one yet but they made pretty crusts and the raw dough tasted good. :o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Love this recipe!! Haven't made my own pie crusts for years but just rendered out a bunch of lard so tried this recipe. It was so easy to handle. Have pumpkin (carrot) pies in the oven right now and they smell delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
messed up and only added 2 cups of flour- it turns into cookie dough, makes an interesting queche!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garrison, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States