No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The best ever crust. This is the only crust recipe I will ever use! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constance sword
Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Browning, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I have been making pies for 39 years. This is the easiest recipe that I have ever found. Turns out perfect every time. Light, Flaky, and delicious. I can usually get 5 crusts out of a batch of this recipe. I roll mine on the thin side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Made Blackberry pie with a double crust for my co-workers. I followed the recipe exactly, but cut the recipe in half...took two balls and flattened them in plastic wrap, and chilled them for a while, then rolled them out on a pastry cloth with rolling pin covered with cloth. No problems whatsoever. I got so many compliments on the crust. I will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This is my favorite pie crust recipe and it has never let me down. I do not understand why others have had problems handling it. Maybe because they did things at room temp. I always roll my dough into crust size balls and refrigerate for a while before rolling it out. If you use either waxed paper or plastic wrap (what I prefer) and place your ball of dough between two sheets of it and then roll it out with a rolling pin you should have no problem. Also no mess is created this way as everything is between the two sheets of paper. Once it is rolled out just remove the paper from one side and place it face down on your greased pie plate. Then remove the top paper once that is placed properly. Do the same with the top once the filling is in your pie and the handling problems should all be taken care of. Hopefully this hint helps some who have had problems handling this recipe as it is so tender and flakey---would be a shame not to make it again. Also the lard is what makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have made many many crusts and this is my least favorite. Normally I don't measure things out but with new recipes I always do!! So staying true to the recipe I followed exactly and it would not hold together and was difficult to roll out. Then when I cooked it the shrinkage was terrible and it split. I think I will stick to the old fashion recipe that my grandma gave me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
OK... to start, the reviews that claimed the crusts didn't turn out right was not this recipes fault!! They done something wrong! I've never made a pie crust in my 42 yrs on this earth - this was my first. On top of that, I lost my right hand a year and a half ago so now I'm a one handed pie maker. One word describes this crust. Amazing! Trust me, if a one handed pie maker has amazing results, go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madbradb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mismadison
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This pie crust is WONDERFUL! Always tender and flakey, you'll never have to worry about the thickness. My husband (who normally dislikes pie crust and sneaks it to our fur-babies) ate the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
this recipe was ok i had a hard time rolling it out it kept cracking which most likely was my fault...lol taste wise it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
excellent crust recipe. i was surprised. dough seemed almost light- but rolled out beautifully. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I haven't make a pie crust in years. I didn't roll it out as much as I should have but wow did I ever get the compliments one it. I'll never use another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danna Lee Gustafson
Home Town: Childress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States