No Fail Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Hard to roll out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Texas, USA
Living In: Andrews, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I have done this now about 10 times and I have yet to have a single problem. very easy, very consistent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The only things I changed is - In sweet pie I substituted lemon juice for the vinegar and it comes out perfectly every time. When using for meat or savory dishes I add more salt and use a wine vinegar or herbed vinegar that compliments the filling. Careful on the salt if using cooking wine as it will already contain salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Butter flavor Crisco and more salt, like others said. Other than that, don't change a thing for the best pie crust recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by dorothy
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Wonderful! The only change I made was to cook them in a muffin tin I sprayed with nonstick cooking oliv oil as someone else had done! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I am a novice baker and frankly mildly intimidated by some of the baking recipes I see but this was so simple! It turns out really great every single time. Now, if only I could learn to make a proper lattice, I would be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Made this yesterday and WOW! I used this to make apple strudel, the crust is flakey and has a good flavor, no gooey bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is exactly the recipe my grandma & great grandma used and is the BEST pie crust I have ever made. Has NEVER let me down and is SO flaky, light and flavorful you will never need another. Lard works as well as shortening. May substitute butter flavored shortening depending on what the crust is used for. Especially good with pot pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I have made this crust twice following the recipe exactly. The crust rolls out nicely and was good although the edges were not flaky; they were a bit hard. Both times I had trouble incorporating all the dry ingredients and had to stir and work the dough a lot. I think this may be why the crust was hard. I would suggest adding a bit more water - maybe use 1/3 cup or possibly more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is my new favorite crust recipe! It makes a perfect, flaky crust that get many great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States