No Fail Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I see a lot of people complaining about the consistancy of this fudge. After sitting here and thinking about it, since it came out perfect my first try, I'm going to surmise that one of several things may have happened. 1. Check to make sure you are measuring accurately. For example, the marshmallow cream should be 3 cups. That's more than one small jar. Also one can of evaporated milk is 12 ounces and this recipe calls for only 10. Adding extra milk would make it runnier. 2. Omit the water. It's really not needed unless you want the surface of your fudge to be shiny. 3. Make sure to bring the milk and sugar mixture to a rolling boil for 5 solid minutes. Candy making is a very detailed experience. Keep an eye and make sure it's a rolling boil and do not go less than 5 minutes. 4. Exchange the vanilla chips for chocolate ones. Vanilla and flavored chips have a different consistancy than good old fashioned chocolate ones. I used Nestle dark chocolate chips in their all natural line. 5. For an extra kick, add a splash of vanilla right after stirring in the marshamllow creme and the chips. Trust me, it'll make all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melcia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Floris, Iowa, USA
Living In: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I read reviews and I think some people didn't have success cuz it is the recipe from the back of Kraft marshmellow creme jar and they did change `the composition. I do it the original way, that is with a bag of chocolate chips. I liked this cuz it was so easy. I don't have a candy thermonotor and was glad I didn't have to use one here. Just make sure you keep stirring and don't let it burn. I think everyone's problem is the recipe change (not using chocolate chips). Maybe we should write Kraft and complain and they would put the old recipe back. Good idea, I'm going to write them right now. :) The stars are for the old recipe. I JUST GOT BACK FROM THE KRAFT SITE AND if anyone would like, they have the old recipe, look up Fantasy Fudge, on the same page, they list the old recipe calling it Classic Fantasy Fudge. Good Luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Great recipe. I find if a fudge won't set up that it is usually that I didn't let it heat long enough at the right temp. I can't believe some people threw this out for not setting up. It also would make wonderful ice cream topping ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
More marshmallow taste then I cared for. The fudge set up softer then expected but still good, this did come out a little greasy I think I used to much cooking spray. I would try this again, but this time I will add chocolate and marshmallow cream at one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
the first time i made this, it turned out delish but every time after that, regardless of what little tweek i tried, it hardens in the fridge but as soon as it get even remotely warm, turns to paste. tasty paste but it isnt fudge once its warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indie_nile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My friends and I made this in our annual Christmas bake. We were successful. However, I was not crazy about the flavour. Would add more nuts if there were to be a next time. But I think I will go on the search for another fudge recipe. This one didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe was good. My first time making fudge. I followed some of the advice on the other reviews. BUT, when combining the ingredients i had the chips and marshmallow fluff in one bowl and the sugar milk mix on the stove. after boiling for 5 mins i layered all the ing. in a bigger bowl. starting with the hot mix then some chips, then hot mix, then chips! I stirred till it was no longer lumpy with a whisk and then poured immediatly into pan lined with wax paper! i let it cool in the coldest room in my house and it was already setting in the first 20 mins. I plan to keep it in the cold room for the next 24 hours to ripen! then refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage Beach, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Followed directions word for word both times and both were failures. It never set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Twillmann Friedli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Didn't like this recipe at all. It failed twice and I followed the directions to the letter. The hubby and kids used it as fudge sauce for ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Flavor was good, however the fudge never set.. Was very gooey. Waste of ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States