No Fail Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Have been following and experimenting with this recipe for a few years now. And have had excellent results. It's ironic, after all these years I'm still introducing people to the Bean Pie. Most have heard of it but not tried it. I'm winning a few new converts. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kwabena Dinizulu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe! I will definitely make it again. My family loved it! I grew up in Jersey eating bean pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMMGOOD!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Wonderful recipe. All who tried it, loved it. I did make a couple of mistakes; I also did not have nutmeg. My food processor has a liquid fill line and the evaporated milk was too much. I forgot to add it later and I forgot to put the flour. I did come out scrumptious but, I will not forget the rest the next time. Just a note this will not be creamy like a pumpkin pie. The texture is like none other and the flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan scalise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marisa915
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I made this minus so much sugar. I only used 1 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mis Vaper
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Delicious!! I have made this about 10 times now. My husband loves them. I actually use 3 cans of beans now and increse all the other ingredients accordingly because I like my pie crust to be full to the brim. I then also have to ccok it a little longer. We use to get bean pies in the city of Baltimore but we now live an hour away so I was looking to try to make my own and this recipe is perfect. People think a "bean pie" does not sound like it would be good and are always pleasanytly surprised when they try it. I usually say it is similar to a sweet potato pie. If you like sweet potato pie you will probably like this recipe. Great with a little whipped cream or cool whip. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made it with black beans and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ontonio Payne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Nice pie. Not to be nit-picky, but this is a traditional African-American muslim bean pie. I would substitute a homemade crust for the ready-made crust to keep with the tradition and roots of this dish. An additional of brown sugar with the white sugar would result in a richer, darker color and taste. Additionally, make sure to use a vanilla extract that does not contain alcohol! Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drachen Andariel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I use condensed milk instead of evaporated milk. 2 cups of sugar only. My family loves this recipe. Thanks for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This was my first time attempting to make a bean pie, and it went very well! I made a few adjustments to the recipe as written. I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1.5 cups of dark brown. I only used a half teaspoon of nutmeg. I used 3 teaspoons of vanilla rather than 2. I used 3 eggs and 2 yolks rather than 2 eggs and 2 yolks.I used a blender rather than a food processor. I baked on 350 the entire time rather than switching temps. The recipe makes 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
My boyfriend is allergic to pumpkin so unfortunately I have never been able to introduce him to Pumpkin pie. This tasted similar and he loved it. I took someone else's suggestion and used brown sugar and cut the measurement a bit and it was perfect. Thanks so much for this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States