No Fail Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made it with black beans and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ontonio Payne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Nice pie. Not to be nit-picky, but this is a traditional African-American muslim bean pie. I would substitute a homemade crust for the ready-made crust to keep with the tradition and roots of this dish. An additional of brown sugar with the white sugar would result in a richer, darker color and taste. Additionally, make sure to use a vanilla extract that does not contain alcohol! Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drachen Andariel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I use condensed milk instead of evaporated milk. 2 cups of sugar only. My family loves this recipe. Thanks for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This was my first time attempting to make a bean pie, and it went very well! I made a few adjustments to the recipe as written. I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1.5 cups of dark brown. I only used a half teaspoon of nutmeg. I used 3 teaspoons of vanilla rather than 2. I used 3 eggs and 2 yolks rather than 2 eggs and 2 yolks.I used a blender rather than a food processor. I baked on 350 the entire time rather than switching temps. The recipe makes 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
My boyfriend is allergic to pumpkin so unfortunately I have never been able to introduce him to Pumpkin pie. This tasted similar and he loved it. I took someone else's suggestion and used brown sugar and cut the measurement a bit and it was perfect. Thanks so much for this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I make this pie at least once a month. Me and my family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cut Out the Creativity
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Fabulous recipe! I shared the bean filling at a shared meal [with no crust]. Looked country-style baked, was light tasting, [I added a cake frosting to appear more dessert like.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
It looks delicious. I'm gonna make this today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fatiha Jones

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great recipe, I made adjustments down to 2 cups of organic sugar and 2 eggs only no extra yolks. I added 1 tsp of molasses and used graham cracker crusts, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States