No Crust Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
When using sugar free pudding mixes, I add a capful of vanilla extract (or almond or coconut, or whatever is appropriate) to take away the artificial taste. With the added vanilla, this dessert was just simply wonderful, esp considering its low calorie count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
My husband and I just love this pie. It is not only delicious but low in calories. The only thing I changed was I slice the strawberries and add them to the pudding/gelatin mixture after it comes to a boil, then pour into the pie pan. This way the strawberries get a coat really well. I also have used less strawberries and add slices bananas which is great for a change. And it is also good using raspberry gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Excellent, light, refreshing recipe. I substituted the cook and serve vanilla pudding mix, with the instant pudding. I waited until the gelatin had cooled then whisked in the instant kind. The recipe turned out very well. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
When I saw this recipe I just couldn’t pass it up…but after making it I wish I had. There are a couple of old adages that apply here. First, you get out of something what you put into it and, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. I arranged my beautiful strawberries in a lovely, concentric pattern in a pretty, white quiche dish. I was fairly confident at this point, thinking this was going to be one, pretty dessert. I mixed up and cooked the pudding/gelatin mixture as the recipe directed, using the indicated cook-and-serve, sugar free pudding, and sugar free gelatin. It was already so thick I had to carefully smear it over the strawberries. At this point, I’m still hoping for the best, but it’s not looking good. The recipe indicates to chill this 4-6 hours. Are you kidding me? An hour later I had it cut and plopped on a dessert plate like a brick. The filling was thick, congealed and rubbery, not pudding-like or custard-like at all. If you can get passed the weird and unbecoming look, color and consistency of this, you won’t be able to get passed the artificial taste or the acrid aftertaste, presumably by an overabundance of “sugar-free stuff.” Whipped cream helped that somewhat, but seriously, should you need to mask the taste of your dessert? I’m reluctantly giving this two stars rather than one only because the whipped cream made it edible. I so wish I could have my beautiful strawberries back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I could not find cook and serve sugar free pudding so I used instant as a substitution. It still turned out well. This is a simple and wonderful recipe. I also used sugar free cool whip. I will be making this sugar free dessert again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I made this recipe for the holidays. My relatives who are diabetic loved this pie, and said it felt like they were eating a regular dessert. I changed the recipe slightly by using mixed berries, and put the fruit and gelatin mixture in a low fat graham cracker crust made by Keebler. I saved some of the berries and spread them on top of the gelatin for presentation. We even made one pie this week to help kick off our New Years diet. Light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I have made this recipe a couple of times and everytime everyone raves about it. It is an awesome desert for diabetics and dieters alike. It tastes awesome! Not only that I changed it and made one that is just as good. I used orange jello and vanilla pudding and canned/drained madarine oranges it was fantastic. Every one want the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
Unfortunately, you can't escape the "after-taste" from the sugar-free products. Essentially, this was just a molded gelatin salad with strawberries in it. Looked beautiful, but I didn't feel like I was eating "no crust pie"---it was jell-o! As for the sugar-free ingredients, if that after taste doesn't bother you, go for it! I won't be making this again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
i used this recipe to make a regular pie. i used regular instant pudding and regular jello. i just heated the water enough to dissolve the sugar and then mixed in the pudding. i poured into a graham cracker crust and cooled in fridge. i topped with strawberry cool whip. it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
this is a great low-calorie dessert. I have used it over and over, and the majority of people can not tell that it is sugar-free. I have even mixed the strawberries in with the pudding-jello mixture and poured it into a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylett, Virginia, USA
Living In: King William, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States