No Crust Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I am always looking for sugar free desserts, so when I had this pie at a local diner I had to ask for the recipe. The recipe is almost the same as this one, except that the diner's recipe called for 2-1/2 C water and 4 C strawberries. I think its very good. I would never have guessed it was sugar free. I topped with homemade whipped cream sweetened with splenda. The diner put theirs in a crust and topped with sugar free non-dairy topping. Its light and refreshing and hits the spot without a lot of calories. I also have topped sugar-free cheescake with this and its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
When I saw this recipe I just couldn’t pass it up…but after making it I wish I had. There are a couple of old adages that apply here. First, you get out of something what you put into it and, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. I arranged my beautiful strawberries in a lovely, concentric pattern in a pretty, white quiche dish. I was fairly confident at this point, thinking this was going to be one, pretty dessert. I mixed up and cooked the pudding/gelatin mixture as the recipe directed, using the indicated cook-and-serve, sugar free pudding, and sugar free gelatin. It was already so thick I had to carefully smear it over the strawberries. At this point, I’m still hoping for the best, but it’s not looking good. The recipe indicates to chill this 4-6 hours. Are you kidding me? An hour later I had it cut and plopped on a dessert plate like a brick. The filling was thick, congealed and rubbery, not pudding-like or custard-like at all. If you can get passed the weird and unbecoming look, color and consistency of this, you won’t be able to get passed the artificial taste or the acrid aftertaste, presumably by an overabundance of “sugar-free stuff.” Whipped cream helped that somewhat, but seriously, should you need to mask the taste of your dessert? I’m reluctantly giving this two stars rather than one only because the whipped cream made it edible. I so wish I could have my beautiful strawberries back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I have made this several times although I put in a cooked pie crust. LOVE IT! Everybody I have served it to raved. I used sugar free jello for my diabetic friend and regular for everybody else. With one pie I used strawberry/bannana jello and put fresh sliced bananas instead of the strawberries for a cheaper desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meta Tharp Baylor
Living In: Hager City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This did not come out at all the way it looked in the picture. The pudding and gelatin congealed together and became a sticky gel. It was super sweet tasting, although it was no sugar jello and pudding mix. We ate it because it was a healthier option to the Thanksgiving pies, but will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Tastes like strawberry shortcake - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
So light and yummy and low in calories. Who could ask for more? I did!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
It was okay but the vanilla pudding just adds a flavor that most we didn't find appetizing. The vanilla pudding mix seemed to stand out. We won't repeat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Great Recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I cannot get passed the after taste! I made 2 pies, both with Jell-o brand puddings, one sugar-free (for my diabetic mom) and one regular (since I don't like the flavors of sugar-free sweeteners). But both of them tasted pretty bad to me, and I'm not sure why. Maybe it was just the combo of gelatin & pudding that just tastes wrong. But we used a lot of whipping cream on top to try and mask the off flavor, and, well, it at least helped us finish it. By the way, the pies don't look anything like the picture above. They are a pretty light pink and non-transparent. The above pic looks like it was made with just gelatin and no pudding. That might actually taste better!!! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was sooo good considering its low cal and sugar free!! Loved it. I will be making this one again very soon. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States