No Crust Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
When I saw this recipe I just couldn’t pass it up…but after making it I wish I had. There are a couple of old adages that apply here. First, you get out of something what you put into it and, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. I arranged my beautiful strawberries in a lovely, concentric pattern in a pretty, white quiche dish. I was fairly confident at this point, thinking this was going to be one, pretty dessert. I mixed up and cooked the pudding/gelatin mixture as the recipe directed, using the indicated cook-and-serve, sugar free pudding, and sugar free gelatin. It was already so thick I had to carefully smear it over the strawberries. At this point, I’m still hoping for the best, but it’s not looking good. The recipe indicates to chill this 4-6 hours. Are you kidding me? An hour later I had it cut and plopped on a dessert plate like a brick. The filling was thick, congealed and rubbery, not pudding-like or custard-like at all. If you can get passed the weird and unbecoming look, color and consistency of this, you won’t be able to get passed the artificial taste or the acrid aftertaste, presumably by an overabundance of “sugar-free stuff.” Whipped cream helped that somewhat, but seriously, should you need to mask the taste of your dessert? I’m reluctantly giving this two stars rather than one only because the whipped cream made it edible. I so wish I could have my beautiful strawberries back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I have made this several times although I put in a cooked pie crust. LOVE IT! Everybody I have served it to raved. I used sugar free jello for my diabetic friend and regular for everybody else. With one pie I used strawberry/bannana jello and put fresh sliced bananas instead of the strawberries for a cheaper desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meta Tharp Baylor
Living In: Hager City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This did not come out at all the way it looked in the picture. The pudding and gelatin congealed together and became a sticky gel. It was super sweet tasting, although it was no sugar jello and pudding mix. We ate it because it was a healthier option to the Thanksgiving pies, but will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Tastes like strawberry shortcake - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
So light and yummy and low in calories. Who could ask for more? I did!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
It was okay but the vanilla pudding just adds a flavor that most we didn't find appetizing. The vanilla pudding mix seemed to stand out. We won't repeat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Great Recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I cannot get passed the after taste! I made 2 pies, both with Jell-o brand puddings, one sugar-free (for my diabetic mom) and one regular (since I don't like the flavors of sugar-free sweeteners). But both of them tasted pretty bad to me, and I'm not sure why. Maybe it was just the combo of gelatin & pudding that just tastes wrong. But we used a lot of whipping cream on top to try and mask the off flavor, and, well, it at least helped us finish it. By the way, the pies don't look anything like the picture above. They are a pretty light pink and non-transparent. The above pic looks like it was made with just gelatin and no pudding. That might actually taste better!!! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was sooo good considering its low cal and sugar free!! Loved it. I will be making this one again very soon. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This recipe appeared in my local grocery flyer. We made it once and then lost the recipe. It was not a crustless pie, but had the same ingredients. We used a prepared graham cracker pie baked in a 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes. The strawberries are hulled and sliced, which makes it more like a pie. The jello and pudding mixture is cooked, then refrigerated until partially set, then strawberries are added to mixture and spread in the cooled pie crust. Refrigerate till fully set. Serve with whip cream. This version can be made and ready to eat in about three hours. Thanks for posting your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States