No Cook Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I doubled this, added one extra egg white and left out the cream of tartar (that is really only needed when you are going to have the cake on hand for more than a day or two) I used on tsp of vanilla and one of maple flavoring (I wish I could find the alcohol free flavors) as it was for a butter pecan cake. I have enough icing for a 10 inch layer cake and a bunt cake PLUS some left over. I have a Kitchen Aid mixer and using the whip it took about 12 minutes to get the soft peaks but it spread very nicely and did not tear up the cake. It has been about an hour now, the peaks are still on the cake so it did not "soften slide and fall" and seems to be holding it's form very well. I am not sure if it will get the harder, sticky texture of boiled frosting and if it does I do not mind. Right now I am very very happy with this and will use it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Great tasting and very easily made. What else could you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I don't know whether it was the egg white in a carton that I used or the cream of tartar, but it has a very artificial taste to it, and it took absolutely forever to whip this up. Still it did not have the very stiff peaks that I knew it was supposed to have. My granny made boiled icing with a hand cranked mixer and I can't imagine her whipping for so long! Also adding chocolate does not work - had to throw the first batch out, since it would not stiffen. This is for a birthday cake - have a feeling I may scrap it off and go with a butter cream. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Excellent icing. Made it for an angel food cake and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy J
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Excellent! The important thing is to mix it at the highest speed possible without splattering, increasing the speed as it becomes thicker and thicker. It took me about 7 to 8 minutes. Makes a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Just made it today for my daughters birthday cake. It was simple to do with my new Kitchenaid stand mixer. I used their recipe last night to make the cake. Only took a few minutes from start to finish to make the peaks. I mixed the sugar, egg and cream of tartar sauce first like someone else mentioned then added the hot water, (Heated in the microwave then let sit for a bit)and vanilla. Tastes nice. I sprinkled a little cocoa poweder on top because it looked just way too white for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
****seemed to take too long to come to peaks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Love this recipe. My mom used to make this for my birthday cake. It was my favorite as a child! Great and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I tried this recipe and it did not work out for me very well. I used a standing mixer and mixed for about 8 minutes. I didnt see peaks. It was very difficult to see a thick consistansy. I was dissapointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This frosting is so fluffy and creamy that my whole family eats it from the bowl I frost banana cake with it and it is amazing. I get tired of the buttercream frostings. This is nice and light--perfect for a summer cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States