No Cook Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
way too sweet otherwise it was a good recipe but way too sweet. I suggest maybe half a cup of sugar? it was just too sweet to my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amykat35
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made it as is and added food coloring. Not sure but it tasted weird. In the South, we'd call it wangy. Maybe the food coloring? Consistency was nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amykat35

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
It tasted good, but the sugar didn't melt completely so it crunched a bit. I used this for a dozen cupcakes and had tones of leftovers (I made 1 batch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Made this for my now 4 yr old Eli...(on my picture). He/We LOVED this icing!! So easy and so light and fluffy! Thanks for posting this Debi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
The instructions are WAY off. It was complete liquid even after beating it for about 10 minutes. And the taste wasn't even good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made a strawberry cake then discovered that I didn't have enough powdered sugar to make my icing so I thought that I would look on All Recipes to see what other icing recipes were out there. I decided to try this one since I had all the ingredients (except the cream of tartar). This was very easy to make. I mixed the sugar, egg white, and 1/4 tsp. salt together and then added the hot water and 1 tsp. almond extract. I had to beat it for 35 minutes! The recipe made a lot of icing but I put it all on my cake because it is so delicious!!! Would definitely use this recipe again despite having to beat it for so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I doubled this, added one extra egg white and left out the cream of tartar (that is really only needed when you are going to have the cake on hand for more than a day or two) I used on tsp of vanilla and one of maple flavoring (I wish I could find the alcohol free flavors) as it was for a butter pecan cake. I have enough icing for a 10 inch layer cake and a bunt cake PLUS some left over. I have a Kitchen Aid mixer and using the whip it took about 12 minutes to get the soft peaks but it spread very nicely and did not tear up the cake. It has been about an hour now, the peaks are still on the cake so it did not "soften slide and fall" and seems to be holding it's form very well. I am not sure if it will get the harder, sticky texture of boiled frosting and if it does I do not mind. Right now I am very very happy with this and will use it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Great tasting and very easily made. What else could you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I don't know whether it was the egg white in a carton that I used or the cream of tartar, but it has a very artificial taste to it, and it took absolutely forever to whip this up. Still it did not have the very stiff peaks that I knew it was supposed to have. My granny made boiled icing with a hand cranked mixer and I can't imagine her whipping for so long! Also adding chocolate does not work - had to throw the first batch out, since it would not stiffen. This is for a birthday cake - have a feeling I may scrap it off and go with a butter cream. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Excellent icing. Made it for an angel food cake and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy J
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States