No Commercial Yeast Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I just made this, just acouple of questions. When you feed it does it matter how much flour and water you add? It seems like doubling the recipe every 2 days would be way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
worked perfectly. thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Have kept a starter for years, I feed it with the water from my potatoes after boiling them. I use organic and have grown them myself. I also scrub before placing in kettle and strain the liquid after removing the potatoes. Then refrigerate in a glass container. When my starter needs fed..it is on the counter year-round in a stone crock with loose lid...I remove from refrigerator, shake it and pour out desired amount. I NEVER have added yeast to my starter and have fed it with whole wheat, rye, white, potatoes, or any other flour I desire with no change in its consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I just racked off my apple wine and started using the Lees (spent yeast) to make hamburger buns. I used regular yeast to start my wine and thought it might be good to experiment and not waste it. I put one tablespoon of the lees in with the recipe amount of water and one teaspoon of sugar and allowed it to ferment for a few hours before it became active. Perhaps I'll try boiling the water beforehand and cooling it, as I used tap water straight from the tap it would contain chlorine and I see lots of posts about bottled water, which is basically tap water passed through a filter. Boiling water drives out chlorine and this may speed up the fermentation. Thanks for your forum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin John Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have to get some filtered water first, then I will get this puppy going. I love the simplicity of it. We might have to move in 6 months due to hubs job, so, if my starter collapses,dies, or whatever, it will be quick and painless to start all over again. I sure hope this will work in Herman recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is exactly the old fashion sour dough starter! Love it, and you can use other types of flour also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I recently received a recipe just like this one, only starting with less. It just got 'done' and I am anxious to try it! It's so easy to make! I like the idea of capturing the wild yeast rather than using the commercial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Although I have not used this exact recipe, I use this same method to make my own sourdough starters. Filtered water is very important as I have found using chlorinated water leaves an off, almost bad, smell. The only issues I have had with sourdough starters is the lid of my container blows off during high levels of activity. This has been the end of all my starters as the starter turns an unappealing grey color if exposed to air too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This looks wonderful. Do u stir in the bowl when u leave it out for 2 to 3 days?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States