No Commercial Yeast Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I have made a lot of starter, which so far has not translated into a single loaf of decent bread. I've made starter with a mix of whole wheat and white flour (which I thought was necessary) and while I've got nice bubbly starter, i haven't had luck turning it into bread. Maybe the secret is to NOT to use whole wheat flour in the starter. I do like the smell and I like having science experiments going on in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have to get some filtered water first, then I will get this puppy going. I love the simplicity of it. We might have to move in 6 months due to hubs job, so, if my starter collapses,dies, or whatever, it will be quick and painless to start all over again. I sure hope this will work in Herman recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is exactly the old fashion sour dough starter! Love it, and you can use other types of flour also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I recently received a recipe just like this one, only starting with less. It just got 'done' and I am anxious to try it! It's so easy to make! I like the idea of capturing the wild yeast rather than using the commercial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Although I have not used this exact recipe, I use this same method to make my own sourdough starters. Filtered water is very important as I have found using chlorinated water leaves an off, almost bad, smell. The only issues I have had with sourdough starters is the lid of my container blows off during high levels of activity. This has been the end of all my starters as the starter turns an unappealing grey color if exposed to air too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This looks wonderful. Do u stir in the bowl when u leave it out for 2 to 3 days?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Haven't started one yet but am curious as how to measure and use in cooking. If a recipe calls for 1 package of yeast (.25 oz) how is that measured out in the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Makes great bread with the Sourdough Bread III recipe with a few minor adjustments to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was so easy and worked perfectly! I started out with the 1/2 recipe, then ended up making the full recipe as well. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States