No Beans About It - Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This chili recipe is awesome and super easy to make! I like mine a little spicier, so I add a bit of crushed red pepper, ground black pepper and Chinese Five Spice, as well as slightly upping the amount of chili powder and pepper sauce. I also discovered that there's no need to cook this stuff for an hour (more than 20 minutes is overkill), and it's even better heated in the microwave after being chilled in the fridge. I love to augment this recipe with Fritos corn chips. As somebody else pointed out, you'll never open another can of Hormel again after you make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett Bayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I tried the recipe and read about problems with vinegar. So I used my old chili go-to stale beer. I used 1/2 a can (after drinking the first half) and upped the spices a little also adding 1 tsp. cumin and fennel. I would think the same amount of red wine would also work as well - trying that next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Too much vinegar taste. Should probably be made with diced tomatoes so you don't feel like you're eating tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Sorry, this wasn't a hit in our house. It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I agree that you need more spice and leave out the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Love it. No beans for me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Awesome I have been looking for a beanless chili that's a fast week day dinner. Added some Jalapeños to it because I like the spicy but left the rest as is. So good thank you. Added to the recipe box immediately. This will make my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Liversuch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
My roommates and I love chili. Unfortunately, I am on a low/no-phosphorus diet, which means NO BEANS. So chili was out of the question. So I found this recipe, and I couldn't be happier. This was very filling and flavorful, and went great with some of the roommate's homemade cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I absolutely can't stand the texture of beans, but I love the taste of chili. I entered this chili in a cook-off at church and everyone loved it. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Used many of the suggestions that were made doubled the spices, used Worcester, and threw in a splash of dry red wine. Also fire roasted some jalapeno. Tripled the whole thing it was absolutely amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States