No Bake Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rebecca M
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I substituted sweetened condensed milk instead of corn syrup in this recipe, and rolled the rum balls in hundreds and thosands, coconut and crushed peanuts. They turned out great, and the different coatings made for good variety in Christmas gift-giving! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
i was putting a little care package together for a family that is moving, and i decided to make them some christmas cookies, since i won't be seeing them during the holidays. well these no bake rum balls were one of the easiet and best tasting of them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I tried this recipe and loved it. I am wondering if the last person to post had problems with it because they used corn starch instead of corn syrup???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I have used this recipe for years. I melt 12 oz of semi sweet chips in about 1 Tbsp shortening and dip each ball in the mixture. A family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This recipe was amazing! I ended up using pecans instead of walnuts (it's what I had) and it was delicious. Super easy to make and as a not if you let them chill over night instead of an hour they are phenomenal! I only got compliments on them! I cannot wait to try them with different liquers! I also added a wee bit more cocoa.... One other way to do it is 2 cups vanilla wafers and 1/2 cup of oreo crumbs. Again - easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I WAS SO EXCITED TO USE THIS RECIPE AS RUM BALLS ARE MY FAVORITE COOKIE, HOWEVER I HAD PROBLEMS WITH THIS RECIPE FROM THE START. HAD TO KEEP ADDING MORE RUM & CORN STARCH FOR MIXTURE TO "STICK" TOGETHER; AFTER ALL THE EFFORTS COOKIES LACKED IN "RUM FLAVOR" & WERE QUITE DRY. I BELIEVE RECIPE SHOULD USE AT LEAST 1/2 CUP OF RUM/BRANDY, ETC. & MORE CORN STARCH...VERY SORRY TO HAVE TO LEAVE SUCH A POOR REVIEW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Yummy! I crushed the cookies and walnuts together in the food processor. The flavor on these is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Very easy, I used brandy in place of rum and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
AWESOME! I did tweak the recipe a bit but only because I didn't have enough nilla wafers. I used half nilla wafers and half cheap ginger snap cookies from publix. the ginger snaps added a little zip to the balls and I may even do it the same way again. Very Good! I also made the balls 1 inch. 2 inches seems too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendyearwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Very good. I used reduced fat vanilla wafers and crushed them in the blender. Same with the walnuts but not as fine. Very easy to make and it doesn't heat up the kitchen in the summer! (Even if you do traditionally make these around Christmas time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States