No Bake Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Corn syrup people - not corn starch. These are great. Use good rum to make the taste yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
What a wonderful and easy recipe. I used Ritz Crackers in place of the Vanilla Wafers, and used Light Corn Syrup in place of Dark. I did not add the chopped nuts due to allergies, Still the saltiness of the cracker and the sweetness of the sugar gave it a nice balance. I used Dark Rum for this recipe, I think the next time I make these, I'll try Spiced Rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I used brandy and almonds in replace of rum and walnuts. I realized as I had already put everything together, I did not have corn syrup. I used maple syrup instead. I coated half in just powder sugar and half with chocolate (as another reviewer suggested). Originally, I thought they were too sweet, however after letting them set for two days, the flavors were amazing! Big hit at a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Wow! I made a batch of these for coworkers using Cruzan spiced rum I bought while in St. Thomas, VI and they were a big hit! I did have to add some corn starch to make the balls roll-able but kept to the recipe pretty much. I did up the rum to 1/2 cup so that was likely the problem with the mix. Coworkers loved them so much that I am known for my 80 proof rum balls around the office! Thanks you for such a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I really wanted to like these. In fact, I ate a lot trying to convince myself I liked them, but they were just so-so to me. I had actually never had a rum ball before, so maybe you have to have a thing for rum balls. I can just think of a lot of other ways I would like to spend calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Yummy! Proportions were perfect. Was going to give them away on Christmas cookie trays but ended up eating them all ourselves. I used a good dark rum everything else the same. Only used the powdered sugar caoting but it added a nice dimension to the cookie. They get more addictively good as they age a few days at room temperature in a sealed container. They are an aquired taste, very sophisticated, children might not like them. I am going to make another batch, they are very easy, the only time consuming thing is rolling them in balls. Recipe states 2" balls, they are very rich, a 1" ball is plenty. As it was I only got about 3 dozen 1" balls out of the batter anyway. A new personal tradition for me, going to make these every year from now on. Want to try different coatings too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Great! I made these for a party I recently threw, and they were gone within the first hour! I used Captain Morgan Tattoo Rum, which is a little sweeter than most. I will definitely be making them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiderQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
AWESOME! I did tweak the recipe a bit but only because I didn't have enough nilla wafers. I used half nilla wafers and half cheap ginger snap cookies from publix. the ginger snaps added a little zip to the balls and I may even do it the same way again. Very Good! I also made the balls 1 inch. 2 inches seems too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Earwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made these for Christmas presents this year alongside biscotti and these were the biggest hit by a fair margin! I'll definitely use this recipe as my rumball standard in the future. They also got better with age...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
i made these for my cousin in the army and his buddies and they were a HUGe hit with the guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States