No Bake Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This recipe is sometimes called Eskimo Cookies. But this seems to have less sugar & butter. I made this with my 7th grade Home Ec class. During exam week I had an extra period with one class. I needed something fun, yet educational & could be done in a regular classroom. This was a perfect recipe! I changed the yield to 18, so the recipe would use 1 stick of butter (we used margarine). The only change I would make is reducing some of the sugar. Many students liked the recipe as is, but since I changed the yield,the sugar measurement is a bit wonky (1/2 cup + 1 Tbsp). I would take the 1 Tbsp out and see how it works out. For teachers: 90-min block with a lunch period in the middle. I chilled the cookies during the lunch period, but there is plenty of time even without. If I had a 45-min period, I would (or have the students the previous class) pre-measure the dry ingredients so all they have to do is dump it in a bowl, add wet & mix. Then put in freezer for 10-15 min & eat. I used this as an example of something to do when baby sitting children (not too young & always ask the parents). It is a good recipe because it is has some redeeming nutrition (fiber- but we also discuss the high sugar & fat content), has no peanut butter (since many kids have allergies), doesn’t need heat (oven or stove) & kids can use hands to mix ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMSVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Really good if you use only 1/2 cup margerine and a few tbsp of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Not too bad, but my kids did not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I'm very glad I only halved this recipe, because then I was only out the cost of 1/3 of a stick of butter. Not very good at all. It ended up being thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I thought this was a good recipe. I halved the cocoa and added 1 1/2 T. Soy Butter (Peanut Butter alternative). I also didn't add the powdered sugar and I didn't think it was lacking. It was plenty sweet without it. An easy tasty cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Not at all what expected, but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Absolutely fun & easy! Great for kids. I added dried cherry-flavored cranberries. These were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Crabtree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Delicious! And addicting! I love these cookies so much! They're great for fixing especially in the summer heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
These weren't very good. It tastes too much like butter and the cocoa powder gives it a somewhat bitter taste. If I ever try making these again I will use half the butter and add some peanut butter, but I think I'll just find a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Greenville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
They were o.k. if you like no bake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States