No Bake Lime Mousse Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is a wonderfull recipe! I took it to a work dinner and there were raves! The texture of the mouse is nice and has just the right amount of sweetness. I make a snickerdoodle crust instead of gingersnap, but that was only for personal preference. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEBEEME
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is one of the best lime pie's I've ever had and by far the easyest to make, 12 minutes from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
If you love the richness of cheesecake and the tanginess of lime, this is your new favorite recipe! The ginger snap crust is divine, the filling is so creamy and yummy, there will be no leftovers! I served this at a party and the only person who didn't love it was my sister-in-law who is a cream cheese snob (you know the kind--they only eat cream cheese on bagels, ha!) Otherwise, people gobbled it up and practically were licking their plates! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paulette
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I turned it into a lower calorie version by: Not adding sugar to the cookie base, and used only 1 cup cookies rather than 2 c (plenty!). Used only 4 tbs butter. I used 1/2 pint of cream to melt the white chocolate in. With the other half pint I made topping of whipped cream dollops with just a touch of sugar and a dash of vanilla (don't need a topping but it looks pretty). I DID NOT add whipped cream to the mixture at all (totally unnecessary calories!). I also added only a 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup Trulia rather than 1 cup sugar to the cream cheese mixture. Trulia does not have that "diet" after taste and it's much healthier for you. I used the low fat cream cheese and cut it down to 2 1/2 8 oz. packages instead of 3. The white chocolate and lime juice gives the flavor and the cream cheese is the texture. You need to let it sit overnight for the rich texture to set in. I dare you to be able to tell this is a lower calories version. My family had no idea and said the texture and taste was like it was purchased from a bakery. I did not use any lime zest (didn't want the texture). It would have been pretty with mint leaves to decorate but since I didn't have any I added some colored dots instead only on the whip cream dollops, but added them all over on one slice just for a better photo presentation. (see photo above). This should be called a key lime cheesecake. It's probably the best I've ever tasted! "Just the right tartness and not overly sweet" is what my family said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I wanted to make it exactly as suggested but I couldn't bring myself to add 3-8oz packages of full fat cream cheese, so I substituted 2 of them with non fat cream cheese. It came out luscious and creamy but firm enough from the gelatin to keep its shape when cut. I kept the butter in the crumbs (note: break up the cookies before processing them if you are using a food processor. Mine almost walked off the counter even after I added the butter because I left them whole) I didn't have a springform pan so I just pressed the crumbs on the bottom and sides of a 13x9 pyrex dish. I thought it might be too small but the mousse mixture filled it up and looked pretty I will definitely make this recipe again but will use all non fat cream cheese and packaged dream whip for the whipping cream. I think if I warm a little fat free evaporated milk, that will do to melt the chips in or I might omit them and add vanilla to the dream whip. Thank you for posting this great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
LOVED this! I found it hard to crush the gingersnaps but that was all. DELICIOUS! I made it for a church potluck and I had a gentleman eating off the serving knife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Hopefully I can change my rating after I make this.. Anyway, this looks amazing and I can't wait :-) I wanted to ask, to the people that have said they would just leave out the white chocolate - what will you replace it with? 9oz of stuff is a lot to take out of a recipe (one person even upped it 12!), and I can't help but think that it will change the texture/consistency of the dish. I am fairly good at distinguishing mild flavors, such as white chocolate, and would think that this is enough to come through. I think it's meant to add a little something (like a pinch of cayenne in a recipe that calls for chocolate or cinnamon), not be the star. And for those of you that had problems with the lime juice, I hope you weren't using the stuff that you squeeze out of a plastic lime. And, if you were, maybe try using key limes. I know, they're more expensive and tedious to juice - but they sure do pack a punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
try this with Lindt white chocolate with coconut! Outrageously good. I made this with this chocolate by mistake one time and have never gone back,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is one of my favorite desserts and it should be noted that it originally comes from Bon Appetit, it's called a lime mousse cake (epicurious.com). I've made it dozens of times and it's absolutely wonderful, restaurant-quality. I add a touch of green food coloring to make it look more lime-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
A dessert (cheesecake) to serve to any company - the gingersnap crust makes a big difference and marries very well with the lime. Thank you for something wonderful, especially on a hot day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States