No Bake Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I found this to have way too much peanut butter and honey. Those flavors overpower everything else I put in this recipe. I added slivered almonds, sunflower seeds, choc chips, and dried apricots. I will use this as a base for my no bake bars but will either add more oats or scale back the honey and PB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Marquette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
There are so many other ideas you can do with these. For one, I roll them into bite-size balls. Easier to eat and you feel more satisfied having "several"! I also add toasted coconut, cinnamon and nutmeg, hemp seed, walnuts and almonds, AND for a special taste for the kids, I add two tablespoons of Ovaltine to add a chocolate flavor! It's not that much chocolate at all, and the kids love them. you just mix it with the recipe before rolling. Going to try to add some dried apple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
i was looking for something healthy for the kids to snack on instead of chips and junk..i have to say the first time i made these they disappeared before i had the chance to sample them..so the next time made them i doubled the recipe..and again..the y disappeared before i got to sample them..lol..ive been making these now for a few months....every weekend..kids love them..they love making them with me.. and they especially love eating them...lol...i change up the ingredients all the time....so faar there hasnt ben anythng n them the kids dont like!....thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethanne Gallagher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
These are fantastic!!!!! I followed the recipe but I used dried cherries. I made these to eat before a hard workout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I decided to try this out but scaled down the recipe down to 4 servings. It didnt taste bad, but wasnt quite chewy as others I have tried of copycats of the store bought Quaker granola bars. I sort of like oatmeal cooked or mixed with the hot syrup. The raw oatmeal taste can be sort of chalky. I would recommend this type of granola bar recipe more for a person on a raw foods type diet. I used mini chocolate chips, chopped dried sweet cherries, and finely chopped almonds. Main issue I had though was it coming together easily. It was sort of sticky. I finally opted to shape them individually in snack bags scooping an even amount into each bag. I got 5 large bars and from the appearance it seemed to do the trick. Overnight, they seemed to hold together into the shape I made them in. I used a sharp knife and cut them in half in the morning. It made 10 approximately 2-3" bars at 164 calories each according to on-line calculations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Stephanie Ramirez
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Omg! This was so easy to make and my family loved it so much that they asked me to make a second Bach. The granola bars are amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Ramirez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Great basic recipe! You can add whatever you want. Chocolate or white chips, raisins or cranberries. Mine came out soft like an oatmeal cookie! My family likes these for a quick breakfast or snack before a workout. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmaronic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I'm going to always keep these on hand - they are the first small item that actually satisfies my hunger & keeps me full for 2 or 3 hours plus are healthy, too! Not low-cal, but for a "meal", not bad. I like the high fiber and protein content, and the taste is good, too. I made them as stated, but heated the ingredients in the MWO to make stirring easier (still a JOB!) Because the mix was warm & I used mini chips, they melted into the batter, but the taste was good anyway. I'll try regular sized chips next batch. I froze some, and they were just like fresh when thawed. I packed them a little too hard in the pan, so will go a little lighter next time, so they're softer to eat. Thanks for the recipe, Jessica et al!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I added salted, sunflower seeds, rough chopped some bulk almonds, and threw in raisins. Melted the peanut butter and honey as previous reviewers suggested. Great tip that made mixing easier. I seriously will never buy another granola bar because nothing will ever equate to this healthy flavourful snack. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These are awesome! Great with raisins and coconut too. I left out the flax and added about a tablespoon of cocoa. I mixed with my hands and formed them into balls (dip hands in water to keep from sticking). Love them with coffee in the morning or with milk for a healthy sweet treat. Great snack for kids too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States