No-Bake Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I didn’t even bother with the topping, which seemed too rich and heavy for the already rich macaroni and cheese underneath it. I simply used some crushed bakery croutons (I did bake the ramekins at 350 degrees, about 15 minutes, till bubbly and the topping golden). As for the macaroni and cheese, even tho’ I used the 10 ounce ramekins as instructed, I still had nearly a third of it left, beyond what was expected to be contained in the directed number of ramekins. More disappointing was the fact that tho’ the taste wasn’t bad, this was more like a cheese fondue with a little bit of elbow macaroni in it. (see photo in my photo gallery) Half the amount of (expensive) cheese and white sauce would have sufficed. The little bit of macaroni was swimming in an overload of heavy, rich cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I don't this can get any better! It was wonderful and the use of white cheese potato chips is brilliant! Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I used this topping for restaurant style mac and cheese recipe. I used regular kettle style chips and Italian flavored bread crumbs (that was all that I had) and I also used fine shredded mozzarella & Parmesan cheese and I also used salted butter. This topping was so good! I will definitely make this topping again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I NEVER fix Macaroni & Cheese but my grandson wanted some so I made this. I could not stop eating it. Now I remember why I NEVER fix Macaroni & Cheese. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Didn't care for it. Lots of trouble and not nearly enough mac for the amount of sauce. Couldn't taste the cheese. I think I could alter it and make it a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Too much fussing and didn't really appeal to us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
We weren't fond of the chip topping. I used sharp cheddar kettle chips. The macaroni itself was very good, but the whole process was pretty labor intensive. It's still just macaroni and cheese. If I bothered to make it again I would just use a regular crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
It's a very good recipe. It's hard to find the white cheddar potato chips, but sing regular chips makes a delicious and crispy topping that we could not stop eating! Definitely a winner for how creamy it is too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ballet4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was incredibly good AS WRITTEN. Thanks again Chef John for another good recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Iit was too heavy, too much fat, & the potato chip topping was greasy & awful! Will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States