No Bake Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I was given a hostess gift of a jar of Peach Amaretto Pecan Honey Butter which was looking for a recipe. Given the heat, this seemed a good choice. Replacing the peanut butter with this gave these a flavor that is much more complex (and really good), although I do remember liking the original flavor from childhood as well. Given that change, I reduced the sugar to one cup only and added an extra half cup of oatmeal. I wish I would have tossed in some chopped pecans as well, both for texture and for the salt.. If you are looking to reduce the sugar amount I think you could easily use one cup no matter what additions you would make as these are very sweet. Adding coconut would also be a good option to add to the texture. The instructions for these are perfect. I did put them in cupcake liners given other reviews of not setting up. It wasn't necessary, although turned out to be a good choice as I tossed them all into ziplocs and then into the freezer. Take one out and let it sit 5 minutes on the counter. The paper peels easily, you can use it as a finger-protector and it this makes a really nice, cool summertime treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Try substituting 1 pack of any maple and brown sugar instant oatmeal within the 3 cups required. It adds a unique and flavorful aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Really easy to make. I used creamy peanut butter rather than crunchy and it was still good. I also added about a half cup more oatmeal and was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Yummy! Just like I remember them! I took the advice of previous reviewers and boiled until the cocoa mixture got to the soft ball stage. That took 2 minutes. They were soft enough to hold together and not be crumbly, but I think that next time I'll pull them off the heat just a little bit earlier because I like them more on the gooey side. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Made these today. Delicious! No problems whatsoever with the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
My mamaw made these for us when I was a girl and now I make them for my own grandchildren. Here's the trick for nice, firm cookies -- do not make them when it's raining. High humidity keeps the cookies from "setting". But they're always good on a spoon! Another trick is to keep them in a ziplock bag in your freezer. It keeps them tasting fresh like the day you make them. My grandmother called them "boiled cookies", but my granddaughter calls them "frozen cookies":)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I've made these from memory since I was about ten years old. I decided to see how this recipe compares to the one given to me by my mother. It's close to identical. Just a couple of tips: add a quarter tsp of salt to the sugar/cocoa and use real butter; also, use a little more peanut butter than the recipe calls for and an additional tsp of vanilla (amazing how much difference this makes!). Also, the key - as others have mentioned - is the right boiling time. I've messed up so many batches this way. The 1.5 minutes is PERFECT. But you have to wait until it comes to a full rolling boil to start the countdown. Don't wait too long or you'll get a dry nasty batch, and don't start too soon or you'll end up with cookies that never set. GREAT recipe here!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe! The only thing I changed about it was using creamy peanut butter instead of crunchy. Other than that the cookies were delicious. defiantly going to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These were AMAZING!! Stayed somewhat gooey, which is just how we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States