No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I hate to give bad reviews, but this recipe was terrible. The cookies were incredibly greasy and slimy. I had to throw out the cookies, wasting all of my maple syrup. I definitely do NOT reccomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
These cookies were awesome!! I was skeptical at first with the maple syrup, but because I don't like the strong overpowing taste and texture of white sugar in the traditional recipe, and because I do like dark chocolate, I thought I'd try them and I'm glad I did! These are definitly are the 'grown-up' or 'adult' version of this kids favorite; much darker chocolate, not over-sweet and have a great peanut butter flavor and consistancy! Honestly, I can't figure out why some on this site had a flop here, I used real maple syrup, Jiff creamy peanut butter, and Wesson Canola oil. I love the peanut butter texture and think maybe a natural low oil peanut butter would give perhaps a little thicker texture. I didn't change the recipe a bit- boiled the first ingredients for three minutes stirring with a wire whisk constantly and was careful not to skald with too hot heat. I then added the rest of the ingredients and they came out out great! I didn't find them sticky or melty.. wonder if the other users just had bad luck..I used utensils to drop them onto wax paper, not my fingers and refridgerated them for 40 minutes before eating. Hope this helped! To me they tasted better than a Reces Peanut-butter cup!!! Will definitly make these again to take to the office or a dinner party!! If you like dark chocolate and peanut-butter I think you'll LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I followed recommendations from other reviewers and these turned out great! My alterations: vegan margarine instead of the oil, 1/2 cup additional oats, 2/3 cup flaked coconut, and substitute carob powder for the cocoa. Really tasty and the texture was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I just finished making these and they are DELICIOUS! I added an extra 1/2 cup of oatmeal and 3/4 cup of coconut to make it thicker. Very good and i will defiently be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmalita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
DELICIOUS! I substituted half of the cocoa for hot chocolate powder to make it sweeter, and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. It was a bit sticky, but the taste is addictive. I'll definitely make these again, they were so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
These are not nearly as sweet or as good as regular no bake cookies. They are much sticker/runnier than regular cookies. I do not think I will make these again but will try substituting vegan butter and milk with a regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This is a fabulous recipe, so delicious you would never guess they were made differently than the traditional ones with white sugar. Thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Maybe I did something wrong but these were so slimy. Not vrey good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I was expecting a cookie more like the traditional no bake oatmeal cookies, but they aren't really like that at all. I don't think I got 24 out of this batch, maybe 18, and they were still small. The flavor was not as sweet as a regular cookie, and the chocolate taste is more for the bittersweet chocolate palette. They did melt quickly (after a 30 min freeze) so I am storing them in the fridge in a container. After being the only one eating these for several days, I've really grown to like the taste of these cookies. For a easy no bake cookie, these are fairly low in fat compared to their traditional version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This is more like fudge than a cookie, but VERY GOOD. The oatmeal gives it a chewy texture. I cut the maple syrup in half (1/3 Cup maple syrup and 1/3 Cup water) as I don't like much sugar. I also used Carob powder instead of cocoa. They are easy and a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States