No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
As my daughter and I were making these, she thought that they would look so plain - so we decided to reserve some of the chocolate/peanut butter mixture. We put it in a ziploc bag. Then we cut a small hole in the ziploc and drizzled the chocoalte/peanut butter mixture over the oatmeal layer. Nice presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
What a great dessert! Took me only 15 minutes, start to finish. Very rich - a small bar goes a long way! The second time I made these, I followed some others' advice and increased the peanut butter to 3/4 cup (liked that change!), and decreased the butter to 1/2 cup. I didn't like the change to the butter - made the top too crumbly. I think next time I'll try 3/4 cup butter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I took the advice of the former reviews and used a little less butter. I think that the longer you cook them in the pot the less greasy it will appear. I substituted 1/2 a cup of ground flax seed for the oatmeal to give it a more nutty nutritious flavour and substituted the peanut butter with butterscotch chips as there is always a risk of peanut allergies when serving to the public. Personally I would have preferred the peanut butter, but to be on the safe side. . . Nice and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Great Recipe!! Made some changes: 1C Oat Meal, 1/4C graham cracker crust, 1/4C rice crispies. Added white chocolate chips to the oat meal mix and added chopped pecans to top layer. Y*U*M*M*Y!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
After MANY years of baking w/chocolate and peanut butter...WHY DID IT TAKE ME SOOO LONG TO FIND THIS RECIPE?? Absolutely Awesome! I doubled it an put it in a 9 X 13" pan, also used margarine, reduced by 1/2 cup on a double batch. YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Again, too much butter reduce by 1/4 cup. Also I would reserve only 1/3 for topping. Delicious though. Five stars with the changes. And I don't give out five stars too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This recipe was very good. I followed the recipe exactly, doubling it for a 9x13 pan, and found there was at least 1/2 cup too much butter. Once the crust was in the pan, I soaked two paper towels trying to get some of the moisture out, and drained butter out of the pan from the reserved topping. However, these bars were wonderful! My friends raved about them, and they disappeared right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
These reminded my husband of a cookie his late mom used to make him. He was SO happy that we found a similar recipe. These are his new favorite :) In order to keep the oats from falling off, I cooked them much longer than the recipe calls for and I added a bit of milk. When the oats were nice and soft, I pressed the first half into the pan firmly, then after I added the chocolate I lightly pressed the oatmeal that goes on top into the chocolate. I had very minimal crumbling. Great quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
Excellent recipe. I made it with bittersweet chocolate and chunky peanut butter and it's absolutely delectable! Perhaps it would be better to cook the oatmeal a little longer, at least to the maximum time it says, for better results. However, now that I'm not allowed to bake, recipes like these are highly appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
These were sooo tasty. And ridiculously easy to make - literally done in 10 minutes. Everybody loved them. After reading the reviews I made them with only 3/4c butter and they came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States