No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Really good, but really rich! I think next time I may decrease the amount of PB b/c it overpowered everything to me. Thats a personal preference though, really. Others want more PB. If you are looking for an easy to make treat, you should try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Neither my hubs or I cared for these. I like most dessert bars made with oats (my husband doesn't because most include fruit and he HATES fruit!!!), but I guess I don't care for UNCOOKED oats. Baking is key, IMHO. Having said this, I made a tiny error that might have *slightly* swayed my rating.... I mistakenly used a 1/2 c. of butter instead of the 1 c. called for (oops...). Some reviews recommend cutting the butter by half, but THIS IS NOT A GOOD IDEA! I couldn't figure out why my oat mixture was crumbly and now I know why. :o) I'd like to make these again using the CORRECT amount of butter, DOUBLING the chocolate / PB layer (there wasn't enough of it compared to everything else) and cutting back on the final layer, making a thicker crust to compensate. I'm not sure these changes will positively impact my rating, but I'm willing to give them a try. :) Maybe this will work for you, but it didn't do much for me. Thanks anyways, Traci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
yummy and perfect, just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami Kulpinski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I used chunky peanut butter and an 8 X 8 pan. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
add more oats to balance out all of the margarine. Can use a mixture of rolled oats and quick oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
These are delicious. I wasn't paying as much attention to the directions as I should have and ended up using the entire bag of chocolate chips instead of just one cup. I also reduced the butter as other reviewers suggested. They turned out very rich but the crumbles on the top didn't stay put. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was a very easy and tasty recipe! no modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Fabulous recipe, everyone loved these. Also used less butter...I doubled the recipe to make in a 9x13, so I used about 1 3/4 cups, it was the perfect amount. Also added more PB to chocolate mixture...and did 1 cup milk chocolate and 1 cup semi-sweet...it turned out perfect. Everyone wanted the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Delicious and easy. I did read reviews and only used 3/4 cup butter. I also think it could use more PB, because there's not a strong flavor-if you like it! :) I think that more butter would perhaps hold the granola topping on better, but it's not too crumbly and worth saving the calories to keep it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Easy AND DELISH !!!! Gonna use honey & less sugar next time to see if I get the same taste. Anything to lessen my sugar intake but still have a killer bar taste is worth a try. Thanks for this recipe !! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States