No Bake Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was the first recipe I learned to make as a kid. Since the mixture is brought to a boil for 2 minutes (5 is too long) the oats are added raw and cook a little just from the heat. Instead of coconut, you can substitute nuts or do half and half (nuts and coconut). I also cut the white sugar to one cup instead of 2 and are still sweet enough. Could also melt in some peanut butter as well to add variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
The recipe was wrong...I followed the advice of other readers and did 5 Tbsp of cocoa...and boiled it only 2 minutes. Used a little less than 3 cups of oatmeal and a little more than a cup of coconut. I left them at room temp for about 30 minutes and put them in a Tupperware container. My way turned out perfect. I also used butter not margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I made these... I did cut the sugar, and since I doubled the recipe instead of 6 cups of rolled oats I did 4 and two cups of wheat germ... still sweet!! They're in the fridge... can't wait to try... but I ate tons of batter... hee hee hee!! Very good!! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
They taste fine. a little sweet, but did not hold together at all. bolied for 4 mins so next time will do two mins and half the recipe as now i have a pot of chololate oatmeal to throw out. maybe use as an icecream topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Have been making this recipe my whole life with some adjustments. Keys to success: a) quick cooking oats, b) use butter not margarine, c) use WHOLE milk. My mother cooked the sugar, butter, milk to a rolling boil for 1 minute, poured over the oats,nuts,coconut & vanilla in a bowl. When I used my low-fat milk, they didn't set up, so the fat content is key to them drying out sucessfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.The cookies wouldn't stick together, there was WAY too much sugar. No near enough cocoa powder. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Don't try to make these when it's raining or otherwise humid: they will not set in humid weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
To who said refrigerate them and cut out sugar. They don't need to be refrigerated if made correctly. I suspect cutting the sugar down may have caused them to not set up properly - the proportions are as they are because these are a candy based "cookie" without the correct measurements - they will fail. Also - the oatmeal does not need to be cooked. Either quick oats or slow oats. Quick oats do work better but neither needs to be cooked. I'm suspecting adding cooked oats would also cause there to be too much moisture which would affect the candy base from setting properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cardston, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was awesome!!! I used only 1 1/4 cups of sugar and instead of rolled oats I used "9 Grain" (wheat germ, flax, bran etc) and 1 1/2 cups of coconut! Super yummy and now my family doesn't know they are healthier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I've used this recipe for years. the cookies always turn out perfect. I put them on wax paper and immediately put them in the frig to set up. I've always used quick oats and have never cooked the oaks. A great simple cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States