No Bake Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Five stars for simplicty - and Four stars for recipe with alterations! I nearly cut the amount of sugar in half - using only 1 1/3 cup sugar! The cookies were sweet (not too sweet though) - so I believe you can easily use a generous 1 cup sugar without compromising the flavor. I followed the remainder of the recipe as stated. These were VERY simple cookies to make on a whim! I strongly suggest refrigerating the cookies to help them firm/set up properly. My husband loved them and was surprised to see how easy they are to make! NOTE: If you use old-fashioned oats you will need to cook them for at least 4-5 minutes... if you use quick oats then only 1 1/2 minutes. Can also be made with 1/2 cup peanut butter instead of coconut if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Cookies are fantastic but don't boil as long as recipe says. Two minutes is all that is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
These are my husband and daughter's favorite "cookies". They are actually somewhere between a cookie and a candy. I only use 1/4 cup (1 stick) of margarine. Also, I agree only two minutes after mixture comes to a boil or you'll have a pan full of crumbs. A yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I also adjusted the boil time to 2 minutes, and increased the cocoa a bit--and made teaspoon sized cookies - everyone loves them! I'd made a similar recipe for years, but always overcooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I am so confused about this recipe! The bad reviews all sound like people were cooking the oat mixure, which is NOT called for. Just boil the sugar mixture then remove from heat and add the dry stuff (think rice krispy treats). So I thought mine would turn out good since these people must have just done it wrong. Well, the oats seem like they NEED to be cooked. The flavor has so much potential but you are chewing on raw oats. I don't get it. If I do this again I will try combining advice and I will boil the mixure for 3 minutes then add the oat mix and cook for another 2 minutes. Maybe it would turn out right? Oh, I took advice and reduced sugar to about 1 1/3c. Like I said the flavor makes me think the cookies would be GREAT if the consistency was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamraarruda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
I wouldn't call these bad, but I wouldn't call them great either. I agree with my wife; she called them "weird." My biggest complaint is not the flavor, but the fact that they never set. 1 1/2 hours of cooling on the table, 4 hours of cooling in the fridge, 2 hours of cooling in the freezer, and I still had to peel and scoop these things off the wax paper. They have the consistency of peanut butter. The flavor isn't too bad, but don't expect them to taste like cookies. Expect them to taste "a lot like candy." Oh, and keep a lot of wet towels around, because if you do somehow get them to set, they're going to melt in two seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2000
I've been looking all over for a good macaroon like cookie recipe and thought I would give this one a try--it was a total waste of ingredients: too sweet, too much oatmeal...it says to spoon onto wax paper, well its pretty hard to spoon out a bowl of crumbs. YUCK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
I make these at night right after the kids are in bed and usually they are gone before morning, my husband likes them so much he waits until I am in bed then sneaks to the kitchen. I normally combine peanut butter and coconut - the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
I love this recipe, I make them every Christmas as part of my goodie bags - everyone always wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This makes a great holiday cookie/candy, but with a few clarifications on the recipe. First, I used quick cook oats so the end texture is chewy but not dry uncooked oats. Second, I kept all the ingredients as written except increased coconut to 1 cup. Bring sugar, milk, marg (or butter) and vanilla to a FULL boil and boil for 2 minutes while stirring constantly. The cookie will be either gooey if less than 2 minute, and crumbly if more than 2 minutes. Meanwhile, mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Dump the boiled liquid over the dry ingredients, stir together, and drop by spoonfuls onto waxed paper. They should hold together OK after 30 mins and beautifully after an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States