No Bake Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Great recipe. Keep in mind this is candy making. After a year making these and sometimes getting it right and sometimes not, I finally figured it out. This should not take more than 1 or 2 minutes boiling. But what I call boiling and what you call boiling and be quite different. But the cooking time totaly effects the results everyone is talking about, too soft, grainy. To start with your better to cook too long at least then you have something usable, too hard, but edible. Then you can decrease the time until you find what works for you. Consistency is also affected by altitude and the weather. These rarely work on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Three of my favorite things: Chocolate, coconut and EASY! Yummy and simple. I used soy milk and soy margarine because I have a dairy allergy. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
The ingredients seems perfect, but the quantities must be off. They really don't set. I left them in the freezer overnight and they still are sticky and you have to peel them off the wax paper. Also, I took the advice of cutting down the sugar to 1 1/3c. and they seem to be the perfect amount of "sweetness" so the recipe as submitted is off on the sugar amount too. I'll either look around for another recipe or mess with this one until it's right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I made A LOT of no bake cookies while I was in the Peace Corps as they were the only kind I was able to make and these turned out the best of any recipe. I think it is the coconut that makes them have a better texture and better flavor than the other recipes (something besides just sweet). Mine never set up hard, but I don't know if that is the recipe or the fact that it was always 110 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
a little grainy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These were very dry and didn't stick together very well. They needed something. Maybe chocolate chips added to the sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLINMARCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very fast and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Great recipe! I was looking for a version of this cookie but without the peanut butter (daugher has peanut allergies) and I am so glad to have this one! We gobble these up, without any alterations to the recipe. I do have to ensure the kitchen is warm, so the cookies set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Loved, loved, loved this recipe! My wee one especially loved it! I only boiled for 2 minutes. I didn't have coconut on hand so I added an extra 1/2 cup of oatmeal instead. Instead of cooling in the kitchen, I put them in the freezer for about 45 minutes and they set with no crumbling. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Use Quick or 1 Minute Oats. This is a Southern Favorite with Peanut Butter instead of Coconut. It can also be made without either peanut butter or coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States