No Bake Chocolate Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I was sooooo looking forward to making these cookies from my childhood days. I read the recipe, I always knew what was in them, but wasn't sure of amounts. So I read the reviews and followed the recipe from the lady who said she was making these for 50 years and makes them every week. I cut the butter to half (like so many reviewers said to do) and followed her instructions to the letter. Terrible. I have a crumbly mess. They won't stick together at all. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Easy and a nice candy type cookie. You can not taste the oats so you don't even know there are any in there. Has a fudge type yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This recipe is all wrong...don't use it...I have been making these cookies for 50 years...yes the recipe is that old...I made them for 4 H when I was 12..do the math...Anyway...Put in a 2 quart sauce pan --1/2 cup butter(one stick) 3 tablespoons cocoa, 2 cups sugar,1/2 cup evaporated milk..boil 3 minutes from a rolling boil..add 1 teaspoon vanilla, fold in 3 cups quick cooking oats and optional 1 cup coconut..drop by spoon fulls of desired size..onto wax paper and let cool..I make these at least once a week when my teen grandkids are in the area...A treat they beg for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This recipe should read "5 Tbs unsweetened cocoa powder," not teaspoons. If you use 5 Tbs, the recipe turns out very good. If you use only 5 teaspoons, they don't set up, and they are not very chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was the first time for me to make these. My mother made them a lot when I was young and I loved them. I'm definitely going to cut the amount of butter in half. Way too much buttery taste! Also, the cocoa mixture needs to boil more than 2 minutes. I followed the recipe according to these instructions and they were still gooey. I wish I had read the reviews first. My fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmccarty12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
These are pretty tasty and so easy to make. So easy, it is more time consuming to clean up than to make lol. I did the 5tbsp and less butter, but I ended up using regular milk b/c my evaporated milk expired (and didn't realize until I started making this). My own version, was I added 3 tbsp of peanut butter and added 100 grams of chopped peanuts. Delcious. I am sure I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
My mom used to make these but she lost her recipe so when i saw this I had to make them however they werent as good as I remembered these are a little to buttery and dont seem chocolatey enough so I will try I again changing the butter and the cocoa however this is an awesome starting off point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
my family LOVES these no bake cookies!! As long as you follow the directions verbatum, they turn out perfectly!(even if they don't harden, you can keep them cold in the fridge and they are still delicious!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnrstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Great recipe, I reduce the butter, and added 5 tablespoons. Glad I read the reviews, as this is one of my families favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States