No-Bake Chocolate Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I've been making these for years and they are delish! My family's favorite variation that I make quite often is I add 1 cup peanut butter to the butter/sugar mixture in the saucepan. Either way these are excellent, chewy and chocolately, definitely need to be kept cold to keep them from getting too soft. I love them right out of the freezer! Give this recipe a try, you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I added an extra cup of coconut for these and used butter instead of margarine... Turned out just like Mom's! Without the extra coconut these would have been too runny, I think. Also, a tip... It's VITAL that you let the butter, sugar & coconut cook together until totally smooth. If you rush it, your cookies will turn out grainy & crumbly. They need cook cook together at a BOIL for at least 2 min. You'll know its ready when the mixture is completely, silky smooth. Also-- stir constantly. The sugar will burn if you stop stirring while cooking, giving your cookies a burnt, icky taste. DON'T STOP STIRRING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I don't understand how people can have such different results from the same recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and even went back and checked proportions and directions. These turned out extremely dry for me, and I had a hard time getting them to hold their shape without crumbling and falling apart. I like that they don't have peanut butter and do have coconut. I just think the proportions of liquid to dry ingredients is wrong somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I have been making these cookies for decades. After reading comments I just want to add that the boiling time is key to these. If you don't boil it long enough they are gooey and/or grainy and if too long, they are dry and crumbly. Practice makes perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
These taste GREAT.. I especially like that they don't have peanut butter and I LOOOOVE the coconut. But they came out a tad bit too gooey. You almost have to keep them in the freezer to eat them. I think maybe if you throw in a handful of chocolate chips or maybe some almond bark, and melt with the butter mixture that these cookies would be more firm when they cooled! Will definitely try that next time I make these! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I have the exact same recipe (amounts and product) at home; only difference is that you should boil the milk/butter/sugar mixture (I add the cocoa after, but that's preference and I use butter instead of margarine) for 4-5 minutes. You need to move SUPER quickly when dropping these on wax paper, as the mixture will harden quickly once the oats/coconut (and chocolate, in my case) are added. I don't find them gooey at all, and have been making this recipe this way for years (it was my grandmother's recipe). Give it a try, they are soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I made this recipe today and I am eating a cookie as I write this review. I made 3 tiny changes only and the end result is excellent. I used unsalted butter instead of margarine. I added about a 1/4 tsp of salt and 1 tbsp. of golden syrup as I read another recipe that proclaimed golden syrup was the secret ingredient for this type of cookie. The reviews liked the golden syrup. These cookies formed well and after being left to cool and harden they are NOT gooey or sticky, they are perfect so this will now be my keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I used coconut oil instead of margarine. They came out great! Next time I make them, I'll choose another sweetener rather than refined sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Great recipe, turns out perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious and super easy. My mother used to make these with peanut butter instead of the coconut but these are nice for my nut-allergic son. I used 1 1/2 c of sugar instead of 2c and they were still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States