No-Bake Chocolate Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made these (slightly different) as a kid with my mother and I have been making them with my kids for years! They are simple and delicious! To the reviewer, Paula, make sure they are quick cook oats. Robin hood oats seem to work best in our house. If you use the wrong oats, or not enough,(I use 4 cups) they do not harden properly. But even the mushy, crumbly leftovers are a great bribe to convince little people to help with everything including the clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I added an extra cup of coconut for these and used butter instead of margarine... Turned out just like Mom's! Without the extra coconut these would have been too runny, I think. Also, a tip... It's VITAL that you let the butter, sugar & coconut cook together until totally smooth. If you rush it, your cookies will turn out grainy & crumbly. They need cook cook together at a BOIL for at least 2 min. You'll know its ready when the mixture is completely, silky smooth. Also-- stir constantly. The sugar will burn if you stop stirring while cooking, giving your cookies a burnt, icky taste. DON'T STOP STIRRING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I'll try with real sugar (not agave) and PB next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I have been searching for this recipe, loved it. I did add a 1/4 t of vanilla and 2T of peanut butter. Boiled as suggested for 3-4 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I prefer the traditional no bake recipe - too gooey chewy... Like glue. Not a cookie at all. Also too much cocoa. Needs an egg and sugar at first maybe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I made this recipe today and I am eating a cookie as I write this review. I made 3 tiny changes only and the end result is excellent. I used unsalted butter instead of margarine. I added about a 1/4 tsp of salt and 1 tbsp. of golden syrup as I read another recipe that proclaimed golden syrup was the secret ingredient for this type of cookie. The reviews liked the golden syrup. These cookies formed well and after being left to cool and harden they are NOT gooey or sticky, they are perfect so this will now be my keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I must say that I didn't follow the recipe 100% - I used butter instead of margarine and I added about 100g dark chocolate to the butter/sugar/cocoa mixture. I also added about a 1/2tsp salt. They were great. They hardened very well and the taste was excellent. I made two double batches as I will be serving them at my wedding:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I have the exact same recipe (amounts and product) at home; only difference is that you should boil the milk/butter/sugar mixture (I add the cocoa after, but that's preference and I use butter instead of margarine) for 4-5 minutes. You need to move SUPER quickly when dropping these on wax paper, as the mixture will harden quickly once the oats/coconut (and chocolate, in my case) are added. I don't find them gooey at all, and have been making this recipe this way for years (it was my grandmother's recipe). Give it a try, they are soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
THESE ARE SOOO GOOOD!!! These are great when its just too hot outside to turn on the oven! My family and I absolutely loved them! I will definitely be making these again sometime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I added a tsp of almond extract after I took the mixture off boiling, and pressed an almond slice in the top when they were formed. They looked fancier than a regular no bake and tasted great. Very quick and nice for a last minute party treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States