No Bake Choco-Peanut-Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These are the kind of cookies my grandmother always made at Christmas time. I followed the advice of some of the other reviews and did 4Tbs of peanut butter, 2tsps of vanilla and used the evaporated milk and cooked for 2.5 minutes.. Not to sure they are going to set up right and they taste way sweet.. still have a good flavor though! Next time I will add a touch more peanut butter, and cut the sugar down, and cook for a tad longer.. then they should be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These were good, but as others mentioned, too sweet. Very quick and easy to make, but if I try them again I will definitely cut back the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I made a half batch. I've never had these before so I'm not sure what they're supposed to be like. I boiled my mixture for 2 1/2 min and they set up just fine. The problem was that these were way too sweet and the texture of the sugary coating was off-putting. I don't know that I'd change anything though. I think it's just how they're meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups and these were still way too sweet. I also couldn't really taste the peanut butter. I think next time I'll try cutting the sugar down even more and adding more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Delicious! I read other reviews before making these, and followed their recommendations: I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, used 4 Tbsp peanut butter instead of 3, and 2 tsp vanilla instead of two. Most importantly, I boiled the mixture for 2 1/2 minutes instead of 1 1/2, which apparently is the key to making them set. Mine came out great - I would even try cutting the sugar a little bit further next time, as they were pretty sweet. All in all, though, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
good with coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
These are good, but way too sweet.... next time I will cut back on the sugar by at least a half cup. To balance it out, I added a quarter cup more peanut butter, more cocoa powder and more than a cup more of oatmeal. Even with the additions, I only got about two dozen cookies from the recipe. Update: Yes, with 1 1/2 cups of sugar, it is much better. I made them again with sunflower butter & I like it better than peanut butter. I add 1/4 cup of flax meal and a tsp of almond extract. I replace the milk with soymilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Simple to make. I remember making these when I was in middle school. Takes very little time to make, and just a couple hours in the fridge to cool off and solidify. Also, I put about 1/2 cup less of sugar to cut on the sweetness. I might cut even more than that next time. If you want a really great taste, eat some of these with strawberries. Delicious! Another thought: I'm going to try replacing the oats with Rice Krispies and see how it turns out. I also thought about replacing regular cocoa powder with dark chocolate to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I'm a terrible baker so I thought I would give these a try. I was a little concerned it might not set up since far better cooks were having trouble. But I made sure the bubbles were all across the top as some one else had suggested and they turned out great! After a few "test" cookies I realized there aren't many left. I am off to make a double batch this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Easy and great cookie. I use creamy peanut butter, Hershey's special dark cocoa powder and throw in a hand full of chocolate chips for an extra chocolate boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States