No Bake Camping Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I am not a "professional", but I am a pretty experienced cook, and I love to bake and try new recipes. Finishing up my christmas baking, I thought I'd try one last easy recipe. Boy am I dissapointed! I had to throw the whole batch in the garbage - There is absolutely nothing in this recipe that makes it set up, and when other reviewers said "messy" and "sticky" to roll, what an understatement! There is no way to roll these in balls! Sorry to say but this recipe gets my first bad rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
The best thing about these is that they are quick and easy! I wanted a no-bake cookie, but I didn't have peanut butter, like most of the recipes called for, so I went with this recipe. I left out the coffee and added just a tad of honey. Filling and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akkadoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I really loved the flavor of this recipe! I definitely will make again, but I too had trouble rolling the cookies. I plan to add some peanut butter and maybe more oats next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKOSTER1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This is a great "springboard" recipe. I made the following changes: 2 T. coffee instead of 1, added 1 c. coconut, and added 1/3 c. peanut butter. Even with the extra dry ingredients, the cookies were still pretty messy when rolling. With two small children, almost any baking project is messy, though! ;o) The flavor of these cookies is amazing - I'm definitely planning on making these & passing them out at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
They were ok. Really hard to roll until I put them into the freezer for a couple of minutes. We are going to try them again when we go camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
From the ingredients these look delicious, but I made the recipe for one of my Thanksgiving desserts and no one was overly impressed. They tasted too much like cocoa and coffee and were missing something. If there were peanut butter in the cookie it would be much better I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
ok and easy. VERY difficult to roll. Suggest refrigerating before rolling or adding something to make it easier (PB, confectioner's sugar, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I admit I changed a few things, I omitted the coffe and added a lot more oats and about 1/2 cup of peanut butter, but the cookies are AMAZING and I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noble, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
These were good, and easy too. They were a bit boring, so next time I might add some extra goodies like nuts, or chocolate pieces to the mix. I wasn't going to roll them in sugar, but I had to or else they would have melted in your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is an EXCELLENT recipe! I made the first batch exactly as the recipe says, and they are great! The second batch, I added extra coffee (stronger too), and some coconut. I also rolled them in coconut. They were difficult to roll, but being June and in Arizona, everything melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States