No Bake Camping Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by daidai
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I halved the amount of butter and it was still pretty difficult to roll, so I ended up refrigerating the batter, and it was a lot easier. I then refrigerated the balls overnight, and it was a hit with my friends the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These were great, and perfect for the children's group I was working with. Based on some other comments, I took a leap and substituted peanut butter for the regular butter, which meant that I did not have to worry about refrigeration at all, making them the perfect camping cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
The taste is great- we added 1/3 cup peanut butter as well, but they are so sticky and hard to roll. We ended up adding 2/3 cups more oats to try to make up for the PB and they were still really hard to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
These were a hit with my kids! Since I did make it for my little kids I replaced the coffee for hot chocolate and added peanut butter! Still turned out great. Will definitly make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I did increase the oats to 2 Cups and used 1 Tbs of water and a 1/2 tsp of instant coffee-- and I took someone-elses advice about using the cup of my palm and a spoon to make the balls. Oh and I also refrigerated the dough before rolling and put my powdered sugar in a small bowl that I could just toss about until the cookie was covered-- then back into the fridge again. Just a bit grainy but perhaps that will go away as they set longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Have had these many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Wow! Really good! I too added extra, extra strong coffee flavor by using reconstituted espresso powder. My regular no-bake cookie recipe calls for peanut butter but I didn't miss it one bit in this recipe. To roll the balls just a bit easier I used a deep, round tablespoon and formed the rest of the ball in my palm. I've also found that rolling the balls in powdered sugar is a little easier and less messy if I put the powdered sugar in a round bowl and gently circle the bowl. The ball just rolls around and covers itself! This one will be great for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Freeze these cookies for a summer treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good! I did add a 1/4 c. of peanut butter and increased the oats to 2 cups to make rolling easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made this having only read a few reviews, all of which were positive. I needed a recipe with no peanut butter to serve to a child who was allergic. I had the same problem with inability to roll them into balls, even after putting the batter in the fridge to get it to set a little. I was afraid the T of coffee might have melted the butter too much. We ended up having it as an ice cream topping (which was a big hit) and I used Starbucks Via in 1 1/2 oz of water as the coffee (which made the taster really stand out!). I will make these again and probably add a little honey to help them stick together and also use cooled coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States