Nime Chow (Raw Spring Rolls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This is absolutely my favorite food. I serve it with a Thai dipping sauce made of one lime, 1T brown sugar, 2 1/2 T fish sauce, 2 1/2 T rice vinegar, 1 clove garlic, and 1/4 -1/2 tsp of chili sauce. Other fillings that are excellent include cucumbers, thai basil, chives, pickled ginger, watercress and carrots. I eat this at least once a week. The combination of crunch and soft, sweet and spicy. It's just the best food in the world. It can be served buffet and each make their own for a fun dinner. They can be made ahead up to at least a day. They are so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I lived in Hawaii and ate a ton of these at my favorite restaurant. Thanks to another reviewer for the sauce idea. Also, aren't "raw" spring rolls essentially "summer" rolls? Spring are fried, summer are fresh, I think? Otherwise, it makes it sound like you're eating raw shrimp or chicken. Though, there is nothing quite like a good beef tartare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This recipe was a big hit with my guests, they disappeared very quickly. We served it with Tuk Trey, a Cambodian dipping sauce made by boiling 2/3cups of water, dissolving in 2/3cups of sugar, removing from heat and adding: 1/4cup of vinegar, 1/3cup of fish sauce, 2tbl fresh lime juice, and two minced cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Yummy.... my mom used to make these on special days and she would include some boiled chicken or pork; the minute she was done rolling them, they's be gone! I try this myself now and still can't get the sauce right, but adding pepper flakes always gives a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zulema011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
As native of Cambodia, this is one of my favorite Cambodian cuisines. My mother often vary her ingredients. Sometimes she substitutes shrimps with Chicken, and added other vegetables such as sliced cucumbers or carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
My husband could live on nothing but these spring rolls! But he says the best part is the dipping sauce from the previous reviewer -- it's better than our favorite restaurant's recipe! Instead of shrimp, we use finely sliced chicken sauteed in basil and chili paste. This also helps keep the basil flavor in the rolls if you can't find fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Excellent spring rolls! The only thing I did differently was to put the crushed peanuts inside each roll. I also skipped the shrimp and added more bean noodles and sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
We absolutely love these fresh spring rolls. They are excellent with the shrimp and they are still really good without it. These are great because you can substitute pretty much any grilled meat or other crisp veggies and they still taste delicious. I like to add fresh mint and cilantro when it's in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Absolutely delicious! I made mine with rice vermicelli noodles instead of bean thread, plus I added cilantro. I made the lime fish sauce previously recommended, as well as an Asian peanut sauce from the Joy of Cooking. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
We liked it OK, you have to practice a few times to get the rolls right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States