Nikki's Steak Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made this the other night. I actually misread how much prosciutto to use and only used 1slice in each roll I made. We liked it that way because it cut back on the super salty taste that too much prosciutto can leave. I also needed to either cook it longer or pound it thinner. It was still raw in the middle. But overall, awesome AND easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This was fabulous!!! I cook ALOT and both I and hubby thought this was phenomenal! More than a keeper, this is very special fare...the reason we cook instead of eat out! You have to try this...I keep smelling the sage, etc on my hands, don't want to wash them :)! Honestly, do not skimp on fresh sage (we had some in garden, but would pay if necessary) or the cheese (we used fontina from deli section b/c I got confused w/ other recipe, but WOW!), we will always do this way...we were amazed at results and look forward to serving to friends...thank you so much, Nikki! Forever in your debt! Can't praise enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I wanted to make something different for my guests last night, and I wanted to be sure it paired nicely with my 2010 Daou Vineyards' Zin. So, I went searching on AllRecipes for something beef. I found this recipe and, with my Italian background, thought it sounded pretty good. So, I bought some beef shoulder (already pretty thin, but I pounded it a bit anyway) and decided to MARINATE it overnight. I was a little leery about this step since I hadn't even tried the original recipe yet before mixing it up, but something told me to do it anyway. I cooked everything according to Nikki's recipe, only I didn't have sage on hand, so I omitted that. The results: My guests LOVED it and even went back for seconds! Thanks for this simple yet great recipe, Nikki! :) (Elaine's marinade: balsamic vinegar, dried oregano, minced garlic, a dash of honey, a dash of olive oil, and salt and black pepper to taste. Marinade overnight.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Hard to get a great cut of steak these days however, my husband gave it a 10. I would rate it a 7. I used basil out of my herb garden b/c I couldn't find sage in the store, great flavor. Had salad and garlic lemon aspargus as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Quite delicious. I made no changes to recipe. It was a nice change from a regular steak. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dearmartha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I thought this was pretty awful, as did my wife. Just browning the outside of the rolls, the times are completely off as multiple people have mentioned (I use an actual oven thermometer, not the oven's built in one so I eliminated that possibility). I love beef, I enjoy skirt steak, this just didn't do it for me. My wife found the sage to be too overpowering, and I can see why. Everything is just competing for your palette, and there isn't any balance. I had higher hopes for the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Yummy! I used thinly sliced sirloin which I seasoned with Montreal Steak Seasoning before assembling. I baked mine for about 10 minutes and they were perfectly medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I was pressed for time so I took a couple of short cuts. I didn't pound the skirt steak and I didn't make pinwheels. I placed the prosciutto and provolone on one side of the steak and folded the bare side over to make a sandwich. I browned them in the oil and then baked them in the oven for about 15 minutes. I served the steak with a simple tomato sauce over pasta. This was an easy and fast meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Because I was preparing these for an event, I didn't brown them first, just baked them. After a few tests, we all liked basil better than the sage, and I used cubed steak (pounded) instead of skirt - for easy portioning and cost. I'm sure the recipe is great as is, just wanted everyone to know what changes also work. We got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States