Nikki's Creamy Crock Pot Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Easy and quick in the crockpot, with precooking the potatoes in the microwave. Changes I made were adding one more potato, more onion, about a cup less milk, 2 stalks of diced celery, and one can of low sodium chicken broth. I also added less seasoned salt, using about 1 T of Mrs. Dash's Southwest Chipotle, along with celery seed instead of celery salt. Near the end of cooking, I also added in fresh broccoli. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
The final product tasted great! But there were two problems with the recipe that really affected my rating: 1. The prep time either needs to be changed 1 hour or instead of using the crockpot to make the base, do it in a pot on the stove and then transfer to the crockpot. I started in the crockpot, saw that it was going to take more like 1-1.5 hours and moved over to the stove. Followed the recipe exactly and then transferred back to the crockpot before adding the potatos, etc. 2. This is just an opinion issue really, but 1 T of crushed red pepper flakes made for a REALLY spicy potato soup. Next time (and I will make it again) I will probably cut that in half. All things considered, it is a very tasty and simple potato soup and I love how it starts carmelizing around the edges of the crockpot as it cooks - SO yummy and pretty! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
holy moly...could 1 tbsp of hot pepper be wrong??? I made this for my daughter but it is waaayyy to spicy....even after adding 1/2 cup sugar and more potatos. What can I do to salvage it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I doubled this recipe. I threw my potatoes in the crockpot with the onion and garlic and covered it with chicken broth instead of milk. I did not need the butter. When the potatoes were done, I did a quick mash with my potato masher, then I added in the bacon, one cup of fat free evaporated milk (my soup was thick enough already so I did not need the flour), a quarter cup of sour cream, the cheese, and a pinch of salt. After tasting it, I added my own personal touches (I sauteed some green onion with a mess of minced garlic in a little butter and threw that in with chives, hot pepper sauce, onion/garlic powder). Good recipe for soup that I could bend a bit and make more personal to me, lighter so I could enjoy without a lot of guilt, nevermind it was super cheap to make both on the food budget AND heating bill. This'll be lunch for the next couple days for my husband and I and we'll both enjoy this a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used fresh celery instead of celery salt and saved my bacon for topping instead of cooking it in the soup. This is a very tasty and easy potato soup and would get a 5 except as written there is too much salt. I cut WAY back and it was still pretty salty. The addition of Parmesan was nice and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. I read most other's reviews and modified myself. I only used 1/4 tsp red peppers and it was perfect. I also sauteed the onions and garlic in a pot , using the same pot I had used to brown the bacon (minus the grease, of course). I decreased the salt and added several whole stalks of celery for flavor (with leaves) while cooking and removed before serving. I also used some low sodium chicken broth, mixing in during the cook time to prevent it from getting too thick. I used one more potatoe and more onion. Topped with bacon, shredded cheddar and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
A tasty, spicy soup, but (I suppose this is somehow my fault) I could NOT get it to thicken! Anyone else have this trouble? I added extra flour too, but still nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunningRoz1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrison City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
We like hot and spicy, but my oh my, too much red pepper flake. We will cut it by at least half the next time we make this. Also, too much seasoned salt...will also cut in at least half. But all that being said, the soup will be one we make again and again I am sure. We did add more bacon and onion and simmered in the skillet with bacon drippings and then moved to crock pot. The basic recipe is good and we will tweek it to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very good soup with a few changes. Cook the veges on the stove first, not in the crock pot. Also, I only used a few sprinkles of red pepper. I would suggest not adding it at all for a wonderful traditional potato soup. I also added half of the season salt because it looked like way too much and it was perfect. Very filling and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tmazure
Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Unfortunately I found this recipe to be way too salty, but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States