Nikki's Creamy Crock Pot Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I made this recipe almost exactly as written, with two exceptions. 1. I didn't add the bacon. I made this for a Lenten soup supper, which is a holiday where people don't eat meat. 2. I added more potatoes. It was a huge hit. It was one of the two most popular soups at the event. Yes, it was spicy; and that's why people liked it. I think I took a little longer to prep this dish than the 30 minutes suggested. I only used a crock pot. Unlike some of the other reviews, I didn't find a need to use the stove at all. I will definitely be making this soup again. It was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Had used the app to change amount to 2 servings. Did not use bacon. It was way too salty, and I even halved what the recipe said. Do not make this in a Ninja 3 in 1 crock pot. It started out looking great. Had to keep adding milk. Ate less than half a cup, too salty. I may try it in a regular crock pot, or better yet just stove top, and cut salt to nothing as the cheese etc has salt in it. People can add their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I love this recipe for cold days. Simple,easy and I never thought of doing the potatoes in the microwave first to cook them a bit or all the way depending on how long your leaving your soup in the crock pot. I do leave the red pepper out and put paprika in because we are a family of wimps that do not like spicy. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookincountry87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Turned out great! I added some cream cheese, doubled the cheddar cheese, and used a pound of chopped turkey bacon. The kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
the whole family loved this soup!! the red pepper gives it quite a kick so may reduce that next time i make it. perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
My picky husband loved this soup! I did make a few changes. I added an extra potato. Also, as other users commented, I halved the amount of seasoned salt I put in. I also used only a little sprinkle of red pepper flakes. As for the prep, I did it all on the stove, then added it to the crockpot to cook. I'm going to double this recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Delicious! I only made a few slight changes. I used onion power instead of chopped onion, and only a pinch of red pepper flakes. I cooked the bacon separately and crumbled on top instead of cooking in soup. Perfect for a fall weekend! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
SO YUMMY!! I tweaked a few things - did not use bacon (i just didnt feel like cooking it), used only 2 cups of milk, and added one cup of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of water. I also cooked the onion and garlic on the stove, then transferred to my crock pot. Love this, will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Way less salt and half the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Delicious. My husband loved it. Added one more strip of bacon and half the red pepper flakes. I did this on the stove top and added the potatoes raw with the rest of the ingredients. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States