Nikki's Creamy Crock Pot Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this yesterday. It took longer than I though it would. I should have cut back on the peppers a little bit more. It was good but not as creamy as I would have liked. Not so sure I like the sour cream either. One other recipe I tried use cream cheese, I think I might try that the next time. Judyb in MO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Beaty
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I originally tasted this recipe at a work potluck -- and, yes, it was very peppery. I still liked it, though, so I asked for the recipe. I did make a few changes per Jan's review -- I added one more potato and added a can of chicken broth instead of the extra cup of milk (because the final product at the work function wasn't soupy enough for me). I used less red pepper, too. I also used dill in place of fresh parsley because that's what I had on hand and I used 3 polish kielbasa links (sauteed in some butter) instead of bacon as I'm not a fan of bacon/ham. It was a good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Way to much salt. Used less pepper flakes also. Couldn't think of a way to save the ingredients we wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I made the last night for my fiancee & I and it was fantastic! Although him & I absolutely love spicy food, I dont think it went well with the recipe. I will be making it again but will either omit the crushed red pepper flakes or only use 1/4 tsp for this. But this was very easy & yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is a great recipe. But the base needs to be done in a pot first and then put into the crockpot with the potatoes and spices. Otherwise prep time is way to long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I really wanted to like this but not one person in my family cared for it. I realized it might be too spicy from the other reviews so I started out by halving all the seasonings except for the red pepper flakes which I quartered. It was still so strongly flavored that I ended up almost doubling the milk to try to tone it down and still not even my very unpicky husband could eat it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Very good! I like the kick of the red peppers. I have made it many times because my son keeps asking for pototo soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made this and it doesn't look pretty at all. The sour cream is all over the soup and looks like cottage cheese. why is this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Overall the soup was good. Too much red pepper and also too much seasoned salt. I added a couple extra pieces of bacon, which was good. I did not pre cook the potatoes in the microwave, because of the health concerns of cooking in the microwave and I didn't see it as necessary. I was right; the potatoes cooked up perfectly just being in the crock pot. Also, as a side note, my daughter is allergic to dairy so I used soy milk and dairy free butter as substitutes. Thirty minutes before dinner, I removed a bowl for my daughter and then added the sour cream and cheese to the rest. That worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I made this recipe almost exactly as written, with two exceptions. 1. I didn't add the bacon. I made this for a Lenten soup supper, which is a holiday where people don't eat meat. 2. I added more potatoes. It was a huge hit. It was one of the two most popular soups at the event. Yes, it was spicy; and that's why people liked it. I think I took a little longer to prep this dish than the 30 minutes suggested. I only used a crock pot. Unlike some of the other reviews, I didn't find a need to use the stove at all. I will definitely be making this soup again. It was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States