Nigerian Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was okay, but it seems to need more substance. (Veggies, potatoes, rice)I used a fresh habanero pepper instead of jalapeno, but other than that, I stuck to the original recipe. If I make this again, I'll double the recipe and add my own twist on it, I think. Probably diced potatoes.... Served this with Best Ever Corn Muffins, a good pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My hubands is from Ghana. He has a little different way of doing it. However, his brothers liked this recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I used vegetable broth instead of the chicken broth. Delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I enjoyed this soup very much. I added a little half and half to make it creamier. I think next time I'll add better peanut butter as mine settled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shipshewana, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
very easy recipe to make... likeable flavour I wasn't crazy about the texture so if i make it again, I will throw it in a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I added celery I used about a half of a jalapeno pepper added some red peppers. I didn't add much onion. I thought it tasted good. It was kind of runny I probably should have added more peanut butter. I didn't put 4 cups of chicken broth I only used one can. I guess I cut this recipe in half I wasn't sure if I would like it. I did like it tasted could I love spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My husband says this soup is awesome! I used pickled jalepenos because thats what I had. Delicious. Next time I will double the recipe so we have left overs for the next days lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granny nanny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
WOW. this recipe looked very interesting, but I am on a tight budget so I had to improvise everything but the bell pepper! I started with dried onion flakes and reconstituded them in the juice from a can of cooked chicken breast meat. then I added 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper and 1 chopped green bell pepper. I sauteed until tender. Then I added 1 can cream of chicken soup with 1 can of water, the meat from the canned chicken and a sprinkle of garlic salt. I then lowered the temp and added 1 cup of peanut butter and 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar. I didn't think it was spicy enough so I added more cayenne. It was thick and creamy, salty, spicy, and rich with flavor. Absolutely delicious. I served over brown rice. I hope my husband likes it, because I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We enjoyed this. I believe I enjoyed it more than my husband, because I'm more used to peanut butter soup. I used red bell pepper in place of green, and I pureed my soup with an immersion blender, because my husband has texture issues with cooked veggies. Served this with grilled pb&j sandwiches and it was a comfort food for me :) Thanks for the recipe! (*In the future I would add celery, a can of Ro-tel, and some fresh thyme.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Horrible. I threw out without serving. I followed this recipe exactly - measuring everything, and timing everything precisely as it states. It is runny and tastes like spicy onion water! I do not recommend and I am not a picky eater normally. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States