Nigerian Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
This is a must to try! Loved it and will definately make this again. My husband loved it too. Great on a cold night with crusty rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This recipe is totally yummy as long as you like spicy food. Not to mention it's very easy and very quick. I make it all the time and I definitely suggest you try it. If the spice gets to you, add fewer jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This recipe was very very good! I didn't have any jalapenos so I substituted with RED HOT..shook about a teaspoon in the broth..YUM even my 6yr old loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
this recipe is so easy. I had been looking for a good peanut sauce since getting hooked on it in West Africa. This one really hit the spot. I like to eat this as a sauce over rice instead of as a soup. So I use less broth and more of everything else. I also use vegetable broth and organic peanut butter (instead of the super sweet/salty kind). Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I enjoyed this soup very much. I added a little half and half to make it creamier. I think next time I'll add better peanut butter as mine settled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shipshewana, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I added celery I used about a half of a jalapeno pepper added some red peppers. I didn't add much onion. I thought it tasted good. It was kind of runny I probably should have added more peanut butter. I didn't put 4 cups of chicken broth I only used one can. I guess I cut this recipe in half I wasn't sure if I would like it. I did like it tasted could I love spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
very easy recipe to make... likeable flavour I wasn't crazy about the texture so if i make it again, I will throw it in a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My husband says this soup is awesome! I used pickled jalepenos because thats what I had. Delicious. Next time I will double the recipe so we have left overs for the next days lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granny nanny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
WOW. this recipe looked very interesting, but I am on a tight budget so I had to improvise everything but the bell pepper! I started with dried onion flakes and reconstituded them in the juice from a can of cooked chicken breast meat. then I added 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper and 1 chopped green bell pepper. I sauteed until tender. Then I added 1 can cream of chicken soup with 1 can of water, the meat from the canned chicken and a sprinkle of garlic salt. I then lowered the temp and added 1 cup of peanut butter and 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar. I didn't think it was spicy enough so I added more cayenne. It was thick and creamy, salty, spicy, and rich with flavor. Absolutely delicious. I served over brown rice. I hope my husband likes it, because I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We enjoyed this. I believe I enjoyed it more than my husband, because I'm more used to peanut butter soup. I used red bell pepper in place of green, and I pureed my soup with an immersion blender, because my husband has texture issues with cooked veggies. Served this with grilled pb&j sandwiches and it was a comfort food for me :) Thanks for the recipe! (*In the future I would add celery, a can of Ro-tel, and some fresh thyme.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States