Nicole's Winter Carrot Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Yummy! I made the following changes: 1.5 cups of whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup all purpose, 1/2 cup oat bran. 3 eggs, instead of 6 egg whites (I just didn't know what I would do with the yolks and didn't want to throw them out). 1/2 cup apple sauce and 1/2 cup vegetable oil. I also used 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I also omitted the nuts (made for toddler) and upped the shredded zucchini/carrots to a total of three cups. I too made mini-muffins instead of loaf---13-15 minutes at 350 degrees and voila!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
The cooking time is NOT a mistake. I don't know if you're aware of this, reviewers who said that it was a mistake, but ovens are quite often calibrated differently depending on their age and brand. Also, altitude makes quite a difference in how baked goods turn out. When I cook my bread, it comes out perfectly at the time stated. However, I specifically included "or until toothpick comes out clean" to ensure that everyone else who made this bread would take it out at the right time. Perhaps before you review, you should a) read the recipe more closely and b) pay more attention to the things you're baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is an A+!!! I made as mini-muffins and omitted the pecans. (because I was making them for children including a baby) Delicious!! They are beautiful and wonderful--chock full of goodies! This is hands-down better than the zucchini muffin/bread recipes I've tried!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is a very tasty, healthy breakfast bread. The only change I made was to use three eggs instead of 6 egg whites, thus eliminating the need to beat the whites, fold, etc. I made 4 mini-loaves, all of which turned out tall, moist, nutty and full of flavor. Will make this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdinsun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These were just what I was looking for to make for my boys to eat for breakfast. I used 1.25 cups AP flour and 1.25 cups white whole wheat flour, 3 eggs and I put in about 1/3 cup grapeseed oil. I also cut back the nutmeg and cloves a bit as they were for my boys (also left out nuts and raisins for my picky eaters) - if I was making them just for me, I'd have done all the spices and tried it without the oil. They came together beautifully (I made muffins - took 22 min to bake) and each boy has already eaten three (I just took them out of the oven). They are very moist and flavorful. Thanks Nicole for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Spice content is wonderful, however, 1 hr and 20 minute cooktime is WAY too long. Bread was overdone at 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I was wary of making a recipe that did not call for ANY added fats, especially after the last zucchini bread I made called for an entire cup of oil. But I just finished my first slice of this bread and it was fantastic! I was using whole wheat pastry flour, so I increased that division by a half cup. So 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 cup all purpose. I also used 3 whole eggs instead of bothering with the eggwhite business and omitted the nutmeg (didn't have any), raisins and nuts. I know that's a lot of changes, but seriously, it made good bread lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
No applesauce in the house as I've not been able to make my own lately, so I used one melted stick of butter. I didn't want to waste some oranges that were going south in my fridge, so I zested the heck out of them and added the zest to the muffin batter. I made no other substitutions. My son helped me put this together and we had a blast. I didn't make them into muffins, just poured them into two greased loaf pans. Smells out of this world. Can't wait to cut into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Fantastic. Added flax meal (1/4 cup) to this as well and omitted the cloves (didn't have any) and nuts (for toddler) and came out great. Very moist. Baked in a bundt pan for an hour, which gave it an attractive presentation inside a pie plate. Also, no harm in added a bit more applesauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I substituted 1 cup rice flour and 1.5 cups chick pea flour to make this wheat free and it came out FANTASTIC! The first muffin recipe I've made with substitute flours that was as good as the original! I also added an extra cup of grated veggies to counter for the dryness of the rice flour. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States