Nicole's Winter Carrot Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I substituted 1 cup rice flour and 1.5 cups chick pea flour to make this wheat free and it came out FANTASTIC! The first muffin recipe I've made with substitute flours that was as good as the original! I also added an extra cup of grated veggies to counter for the dryness of the rice flour. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Wow! This was so tasty! I added 1 tspn of Pumkin spice instead of the cloves and also a sprinkle of allspice. I 1/2 cup of apple sauce, 1/2 cup of nonfat plain yogurt for very moist bread. I also added about 3 1/2 cups of zucchinni, carrots and 1 tbspn of ground flax seeds!! This is healthy and delicious- great recipe. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very tasty. Love that I can hide veggies for my toddler in this. I omitted the spices since my toddler reacts to cinnamon and I felt the other spices wouldn't work without the cinnamon. Still turned out great. Made as 12 muffins, baked for about 20 min. They were a bit dry, which is why it gets 4 instead of 5 stars. Will try with a bit or oil or a mashed banana next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
No applesauce in the house as I've not been able to make my own lately, so I used one melted stick of butter. I didn't want to waste some oranges that were going south in my fridge, so I zested the heck out of them and added the zest to the muffin batter. I made no other substitutions. My son helped me put this together and we had a blast. I didn't make them into muffins, just poured them into two greased loaf pans. Smells out of this world. Can't wait to cut into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Clearly a healthy flavorful recipe with no oil and lots of fiber. However, I really missed the oil. I'll have to make it again with it in. As for baking time, I wonder if the people who said the time was too short were using muffin tins. (Picture shows muffins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great dense and moist bread. A little heavy on the cloves in my opinion. I did a side by side comparison with the carrot Zucchini Bread recipe and this was the winner hands down. Although I might like to add orange zest next time, like is done in the other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpie81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Pretty easy to make and very delicious! Thanks for a great recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
The cooking time is NOT a mistake. I don't know if you're aware of this, reviewers who said that it was a mistake, but ovens are quite often calibrated differently depending on their age and brand. Also, altitude makes quite a difference in how baked goods turn out. When I cook my bread, it comes out perfectly at the time stated. However, I specifically included "or until toothpick comes out clean" to ensure that everyone else who made this bread would take it out at the right time. Perhaps before you review, you should a) read the recipe more closely and b) pay more attention to the things you're baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Cooking time must be a mistake. Someone also said this and I cut it to 1 hour which was still to long. If your not a big fan on cloves cut this back also. Also be prepared to spend some time on this recipe with all the great reviews we were greatly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjoepc
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was wonderful! My husband even liked it and he is a very picky eater when it comes to breads. The only change I made was I only put in about half of the brown sugar it called for - we don't like our breads really sweet. I used 5 mini loaf pans and cooked them for 45min and they came our great! I am going to keep this recipe at the top of my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States