Nicole's Winter Carrot Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I didn't have wheat flour, so I used white. Also exchanged Craisins for the raisins. Worked great and tastes wonderful! I live in Colorado, so I baked the loaves at 300 for about 1:15. No other changes needed. Very moist and a new favorite in our house. Next time I'll make sure to have the wheat flour on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Really yummy muffins. I made them according to the recipe. My kids love them. A bit heavy on the spices. I will try them cut back a bit next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
These are pretty good. The only change I made to the ingredients was to use 3 whole eggs instead of six egg whites. I also chose to make 24 muffins instead of a loaf of bread. The spice ratio is off, so I may adjust that next time. Other than that, they were good. Nice texture. I don't recommend using paper muffin liners if you make muffins. The lack of fat causes them to stick something awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Delicious! I made this recipe with a few changes and it turned out great. 2 cups unbleached flour and 1/2 cup ground flaxseeds. I also used 3 whole eggs and plain white flour. I didn't use nutmeg as I didn't have any. I don't usually rate recipes if I've changed them but the only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the baking time was a little off. It only needs about 1/2 the time that is listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
The flavor is great, but, I learned the hard way: if you are making muffins, BE CAREFUL to not overbake. If they cook too long they get dried out and loose a lot of their appeal. When checking for doneness with your toothpick don't wait until the toothpick comes out completely clean. Take the muffins out when there are still a couple of moist crumbs sticking to it. They will continue to bake for a few minutes after you take them out of the oven. I baked large 3.5" muffins (top diameter) and they were over-done at 43 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I really enjoy having a slice of breakfast bread in the morning, so I'm always looking for good recipes. I stopped using any recipes requiring oil a while back and have never turned back. Changes I made to this recipe: only used all-purpose flour, only used baking powder (they don't sell baking soda in grocery stores in the Netherlands), omitted salt, used 3 eggs instead of 6 egg whites, used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of cane sugar, and substituted chocolate chunks for the raisins (they don't sell chocolate chips here either). I usually only use half the sugar called for in recipes, but based on some other reviews I decided to keep the sugar amount called for and I'm glad I did as it turned out at just the right sweetness. I think the amount of spices was perfect, but I really like anything that includes any of the included spices. For my oven, the cooking time was perfect - to be on the safe side, I started checking the bread at around 50 minutes to verify that I was on track. I'm happy with the outcome. It could have been a bit less crumbly, but that might also be due to any of the changes that I made; I think it's also due to the lack of grease in the bread, which is a good thing. I am glad that it's not too sweet - since it's for breakfast, I'd rather not have anything super sweet early in the morning. Looking forward to enjoying this over the coming weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Love this. Keep going back to this recipe, I love that it can be easily tweaked for whatever you currently have...left over steamed cauliflower-in the bread, leftover roasted beets- grated and in the bread. Don't have applesauce, but have olive oil-fine. You just can't go wrong with this bread and the grated zucchini adds such a nice pop of color. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made these as muffins and substituted the pecans with chocolate chips. EXCELLENT! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I think you have to like spice bread in order to enjoy this. It wasn't very sweet and the spices were overwhelming. No one ate it at the thanksgiving table. However, I think some people really like this sort of flavor, so don't knock it til you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Very good!! The first day it tastes like your average zucchini loaf, but the second...WOW. This is a loaf to make a day ahead of when you need it. The only changes I made was I used 3 full eggs instead of 6 egg whites and no raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States