Nicole's Tailgate Party Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I missed the flavor of onion, but for kids or onion hating folks it was nice. The egg made for a different texture. I thought 2 cups of dressing would be too much so I reduced it to 1.5 plus a few spoonfuls and it was perfect for us. Croutons was again, a different touch...not great or awful, just different. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I needed a great "stretchable" recipe for lunches this week as we're quite broke for a while. I had some shredded chicken I found in my deep freeze and this fit the bill using the little bits of what I had on hand. I did not have a full two cups of almonds, I actually had just under a cup of slivered almonds that I found in the back of my pantry. I used caesar seasoned croutons (a bargain find for cheap at my Grocery Outlet for almost nothing) and I ran them through my blender a cup at a time to break down the croutons just a bit. I used 2% shredded sharp cheddar and because we are absolutely not Miracle Whip eaters, I used Best Foods mayonnaise. I have to say that with a little personalization with a bit of pepper/chopped green onion/garlic powder/onion powder/dill weed/few shakes Frank's Hot Sauce, this is THE BEST chicken salad I've ever had. EVER. My husband wasn't sure about it in the beginning but he loved it as much as I did. Even the littlest, who is picky about everything, inhaled a sandwich and a half of this. Thank you so much, Nicole, for a new family favorite. I bet this would be just as good with leftover Thanksgiving turkey and I'll tell you, it cost next to nothing for me to make. Yum yum! So happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
IMPORTANT: Be sure to use SMALL croûtons - if you use big ones, the croûtons will overtake the chicken in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Great recipe! I used shredded fryed chicken. Next time I am going to try cashews instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JQT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This was a huge glob when I got done adding all the ingredients. I don't think the egg goes well. It tastes more like an egg salad. I don't think I will make again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This salad has an identity crisis - it's as much a bread salad or egg salad as it is chicken salad. I prefer a true chicken salad without all the bread and eggs as fillers. The croutons made the salad salty and very dry. (The salad wasn't better the next day, it was just dryer). Hubby asked me never to make this again! A true chicken salad, with the addition of seedless grape halves and almonds, is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I had everything in the house but the almonds so substituted walnuts. The recipe was great and next time I'll use the almonds. My husband loved it and said to use this recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I tweaked it a little to use what I had on hand... I shredded up one of those roasted chickens at the grocery store, used 1/2 mayo and 1/2 miracle whip. I crushed up the croutons, and used almonds, cheese, and little champagne grapes in it ( I needed to use them!) My boyfriend and I ate it as a spread on sliced rosemary potato bread from albertsons as a picnic with a bottle of wine and it was PERFECT. Thank you for a perfect picnic dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
My son thinks that I make the best chicken salad around (he's biased) and I use mayo instead of miracle whip, NO CELERY and have never thought about the cheese or croutons. But I might very well try this. The almonds really do make chicken salad VERY SPECIAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
The addition of hard boiled eggs makes this an interesting chicken salad. This chicken salad works well as an appetizer dip/spread with sturdy crackers or as an entre because it is a great sandwich filling. I am a fan of seasoned mayo as my 'adhesive' of choice instead of Miracle Whip Pesto,dill, or roasted red pepper add a nice flavor to mayonaisse and both work well in this salad. I skipped the croutons and didn't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Saurer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

How to Make Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty, tangy chicken salad in three simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States