Next-Best-Thing-To-Robert-Redford Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I had never had this before but my husband requested it by name. I substituted the nut crust for a graham cracker crust. I'm unsure if I used a full 8 oz container of cool whip with the cream cheese I just mixed until I thought it was a good consistency. I didn't have any chocolate for chocolate shavings so I used chocolate chips on top. Will be making this again! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
ALWAYS a WINNER!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I found that replacing the white sugar for powdered sugar was much better. I love this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This has always been one of your favorites. I made three last weekend, except I changed the flavor of the puddings. I made one chocolate, one lemon and a coconut cream. The coconut was the first to go, then the lemon. Hmmm who doesn't like chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Delicious dessert. My kids don't know who Robert Redford is, but after one bite of this pie, they didn't care. I sprinkled crushed Oreos on the top rather than grated chocolate. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I've been making this dessert for 30 years. We called it "Better than sex cake". Or when the kiddies were little, it was "Better than you know what cake". My Aunt gave me the recipe, now my daughter and neices and nephews make it and now it's back to being better than you know what cake when we serve it to my grandkids:) Now that my friends, is how you tell a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My grandma made this every Thanksgiving! We LOVE it & still make it every year. The only difference is that instead of a chocolate garnish we to toasted coconut, it's really yummy. Also our crust is slightly different: 1 c. Flour, 1 c. Nuts, and 1/2 c. melted butter. melting the butter makes it much easier to press into the pan! Just reduce the baking time to 15 minutes to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We had this growing up all the time and just called it Robert Redford. You can double the cream cheese layer if you like more cream cheese but this cake is rich and delicious as is. I mix the whipped cream, cream cheese and sugar to taste. I don't really follow the measurements given. Also, you can use two chocolate puddings instead of one chocolate and one vanilla if you want a stronger chocolate flavor. A unique and fun dessert. As with many desserts, this is best after refrigerated for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I'm giving the recipe 4 stars because the flavor is unbelievable but the consistency in the whipped cream layer is to runny, need to make an adjustment to this part of the recipe. The rest is perfect I omitted vanilla pudding and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This dessert is amazing! However, when I made it, I didn't have any walnuts for the crust. Instead, I crunched up Cinnamon Toast Crunch into the flour and butter to give it some texture that would be lacking without the nuts. It turned out better than I ever imagined! If your not a huge fan of nuts or if you don't want to pay a fortune for them, then I strongly urge you to try this. You will not regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States