Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This was definitely the best clam chowder I have ever made! My store didn't have fresh clams so I had to use 2 cans of baby clams with the juice, the clam juice was rather expensive so I only bought 1- 8 oz. bottle and substituted 5 cups of chicken broth and it still turned out great!! Thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Wow, very Gooooood! I used 4 cans baby clams,1 bottle clam juice, 5c.chicken broth,3 stalks celery,3 stripsbacon,11/2#potatoes,2c.1/2&1/2. Thickness is just right.Thanks Dee!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhillssnowball

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I've tried making clam chowder using many different recipes and this is the best recipe I have ever used. From now on it's the only recipe for clam chowder I will use. I substituted fat free half and half and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
This is a really good recipe. I used a little less on the clams (had to use canned as I am not in N.E.)and more on the potatoes. I did brown four slices of bacon first and cut out 1 Tbs Butter in place. Tasted much better the next day! Very good stuff! Serve with some clam cakes and you are set for a meal! Brought back a little of home (RI) for us military people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Great Recipe! I did not have extra clam juice , other than from my fresh clams and so I used some chicken stock instead. Also instead of half and half I used skim milk, still as creamy and tasty. Although I did not have any dill on hand, the soup was wonderful. This will by the recipe I use from now on!! For sure a once a month meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Definitely need to fry up some bacon for this! Chop bacon into bite sized bits and fry up crisply.. use the fat to saute onion and celery along with a reduced amount of butter. I also like a stalk or two of chopped celery. Also, if you are using canned clams, don't boil your clams in the liquid, just reserve them and add them in with the cooked potatoes at the end. Otherwise your clams will be very chewy and rubbery. This recipe assumes the use of fresh clams, which is ideal, but not always practical. Also, there are different kinds of clam species.. most that you buy in the store are best for steamers, but these lack the flavor of clams best used in chowders. Canned clams are generally best for chowders in my experience. I also add a pinch of dill weed, a teaspoon or two of Old Bay and float a pat of butter on top when serving. Yummo! As an ex-Newporter, I can testify that this is the REAL DEAL!!! VERY NICE and thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
My husband and I both Loved this recipe! I used 4 cans of clams and 4 bottles of clam juice, plus one can of chicken broth. I also chopped up a couple of stalks of celery and sauted along with the onions. I also added only 2 cups of fat-free half and half. I didn't have fresh dill, so I substituted dried dill, but it was still awesome. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Dee!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This was the BEST chowder I have ever had (and I have had chowder from up and down both coasts). TRY THIS CHOWDER you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Don't let the name fool you, it's New England. You, as well as everyone else will loves this recipe. My husband, a fan of Clam Chowder said it's the best he's eaten, anywhere. I used 2 cups cream and 1 cup half and half. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2000
I made this for a party and received rave reviews. I had to give the recipe to almost every there. I did chance the recipe a little though. I added more potatoes and I added bacon. A big success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States