Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Made this last night and it was delicious! Added 1 tablespoon fresh tyme and rosemary and 1 cup of both carrots and celery. Per other reviews substituted some chicken stock for clam juice and used fat free half and half to cut back on the calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
We love clam chowder and we LOVE this recipe!!! SO DELISH.....YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was good after tweaking, but I found it to be very bland in its original recipe, and I don't even like spicy food. It just seemed to lack flavor, but that's probably because I used only 3 jars of clam juice and I used 5 cans of clams rather than fresh. I also added a stalk of celery and lots of spices at the end, plus closer to 2 pounds of potatoes. Even after adding vegetable bullion, extra dill, Old Bay, paprika, salt and pepper, and even cayenne pepper, it was still rather bland and a little thinner than what I'd hoped. I think I probably should have used the entire 6 bottles of clam juice and not tried to substitute with chicken broth. Anyway, it's good. I just wasn't wowed by it. Revised: After sitting int he fridge overnight and then eating it again the next day, it was absolutely delicious! The consistency was perfect (not too thick, not toot thin) and the flavors really blended together well. I'd give it 5 stars now, but I'd definitely say to make it a day ahead and serve it the next day, for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I made this yesterday morning and when it cooled put it in the fridge till supper time. OK, I bought 4 bottles of clam juice and one broke so I used 3. I used 5 cans of minced clam's & 1 large can of whole clams with the juice & I used fat free 1/2 & 1/2. Everything else I did according to the original recipe. It was my first time making a clam chowder and wanted something to thrill my hubby with who is from Maine. This did it. He was amazed and said it was the best clam chowder he had ever had. I loved it! I think the clam juice bottle that broke was a blessing in disguise! ****UPDATE****09/09/14*** I only make this once a year if that, as it is rich. NO fresh clams in my area and canned works fine. Last night I used 4 large cans of clams with juice and 5 bottles of clam juice and it was fine. You can't have too many clams in my opinion so I'll more than likely add 1 more can next time. I have never made it with bacon in it and do not plan to. I do let it simmer on the stove for a good bit longer than the recipe says to. If you are searching for the best clam chowder recipe, well, you have just found it. Oh, one more note just for fun....I call this my lay away chowder. As it is rather costly to make I will buy a can of clams or a bottle of clam juice on different trips to the store over a period of time so I don't get stuck with the "sticker shock" of buying everything needed at one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lacey R.
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This chowder was very good. I did change a few things though. I added bacon and only 2 tablespoons of butter instead of a half cup. I added two cans of chicken broth and filled one of the empty cans with half and half and that was plenty of liquid. I used two cans of minced clams in the juice and half a bottle of clam juice. This was very good and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey R.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
We LOVE this! I found the recipe last fall and I made it several times through spring. Looking forward to cooler weather again to get this cookin! Thanks OMMIE3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is fabulous! I cook my potatoes in clam juice and it makes them taste great. A lovely recipe with amazing flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This chowder is excellent! I am very picky about clam chowder and I generally only eat it at a favorite local restaurant, because I have been eating it there since I was a kid. I have since moved away and I had a craving for chowder so I thought I would give this one a try. I am glad I did! It was very easy to make too. I used 5 medium potatoes, 4 cans of chopped clams, 2 jars of clam juice and 2 cans of chicken broth. Delicious! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Pretty good! Be sure to add more half and half if you want it creamier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States