Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Sorry - I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I'm giving this 5 stars b/c I think as written it will be 5 stars. We had to substitute chicken broth for some of the clam juice and also didn't have enough clams. We added some carrots and celery too. Next time I will follow the recipe to a T and I'm sure it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
When I make clam chowder, it is a REAL treat. I usually use heavy whipping cream instead of the half n half. It gives it a really creamy texture, and more of that whiter color, not yellowish. BUT since I am cutting back on calories, and fat, I used the half and half and it tasted very good. I did use some bacon for extra flavor and some chicken stock. It was really good. Dont forgte the dill. I had dried and it adds such a unique flavor.It made a lot for me and my boyfriend. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Ague Hahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Way too watery, too much onion, not enough potato and very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Utari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Absolutely love it. We make it with less clams and some potatoes cuz we're po' folk :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is the first time I've actually reviewed a recipe....but I love this site!!!! I always read reviews then make it my own.....this was my first time making Clam Chowder...I have a scrap book group and am always trying new things...this Recipe was AMAZING!!!! I added celery and used 6 cans chopped clams with juice and 3 cans clam juice, and about 2 cups chicken broth....all the rest I followed the recipe...it is DELICIOUS!! I love the addition of fresh dill! I also made it the night before and it worked perfect! YUM!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Socalistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
We had a Soup Party at our house a few nights ago that included homemade breads and rolls, 2 kinds of chili, 3 soups, one stew and This Recipe for Newport Clam Chowder. Well, the results are in: The Clam Chwder stole the show. The raves were mainly about the flavor. A few guests, however, confided in me that it wasn't thick enough. I WILL make this again to see if I did something wrong but will thicken it if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Very tasty! My grocery store only had 3 jars of clam juice, so I substituted chicken broth for the rest. Also, used 4 cans of clams as fresh are not available here. I did add a few pieces of crumbled up bacon at the end, and it was fabulous. It did come out a little thinner than I would like, so I may try to thicken it up next time. Didn't affect the flavor at all though. Still delicious. Makes a lot, so I was able to freeze some for another day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I just signed up for this site to let you know "This clam cowder is amazing". Good job, I can see how it won a chowder cookoff. Thanks for sharing! Used 2 slices of bacon and celery for flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Made this last night and it was delicious! Added 1 tablespoon fresh tyme and rosemary and 1 cup of both carrots and celery. Per other reviews substituted some chicken stock for clam juice and used fat free half and half to cut back on the calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States