Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Great and easy recipe for clam chowder. I did leave out the dill and added a couple of teaspoons of pickled jalapenos. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Sorry - I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I'm giving this 5 stars b/c I think as written it will be 5 stars. We had to substitute chicken broth for some of the clam juice and also didn't have enough clams. We added some carrots and celery too. Next time I will follow the recipe to a T and I'm sure it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
When I make clam chowder, it is a REAL treat. I usually use heavy whipping cream instead of the half n half. It gives it a really creamy texture, and more of that whiter color, not yellowish. BUT since I am cutting back on calories, and fat, I used the half and half and it tasted very good. I did use some bacon for extra flavor and some chicken stock. It was really good. Dont forgte the dill. I had dried and it adds such a unique flavor.It made a lot for me and my boyfriend. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Ague Hahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Way too watery, too much onion, not enough potato and very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Utari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Absolutely love it. We make it with less clams and some potatoes cuz we're po' folk :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is the first time I've actually reviewed a recipe....but I love this site!!!! I always read reviews then make it my own.....this was my first time making Clam Chowder...I have a scrap book group and am always trying new things...this Recipe was AMAZING!!!! I added celery and used 6 cans chopped clams with juice and 3 cans clam juice, and about 2 cups chicken broth....all the rest I followed the recipe...it is DELICIOUS!! I love the addition of fresh dill! I also made it the night before and it worked perfect! YUM!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Socalistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
We had a Soup Party at our house a few nights ago that included homemade breads and rolls, 2 kinds of chili, 3 soups, one stew and This Recipe for Newport Clam Chowder. Well, the results are in: The Clam Chwder stole the show. The raves were mainly about the flavor. A few guests, however, confided in me that it wasn't thick enough. I WILL make this again to see if I did something wrong but will thicken it if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Very tasty! My grocery store only had 3 jars of clam juice, so I substituted chicken broth for the rest. Also, used 4 cans of clams as fresh are not available here. I did add a few pieces of crumbled up bacon at the end, and it was fabulous. It did come out a little thinner than I would like, so I may try to thicken it up next time. Didn't affect the flavor at all though. Still delicious. Makes a lot, so I was able to freeze some for another day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I just signed up for this site to let you know "This clam cowder is amazing". Good job, I can see how it won a chowder cookoff. Thanks for sharing! Used 2 slices of bacon and celery for flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States